We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as western as it gets.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open Range

Open Range
Reserve with OpenTable
Open Range is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Cross street: 11th Avenue NE
Calgary , Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“as western as it gets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My Wife , born in raised in Alberta on a Farm no less , has a natural Taste for western Cuisine. So every once in a while we select a Restaurant that offers this type of Fare. We now have been to Open range several Times and have never been Dissapointed. Be it Steak , the Ribs or the Venecine Goulash , the Meals were always fantastic , tastefull and worth every Penny. The personal Interest of the Chef was always apperant. A Place to recommend for sure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank duslbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    33
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
418 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate here with my cousin and his wife. The food was excellent and the price was definitely reasonable. The wine was complimentary due to a reservation problem and it did not disappoint. Would definitely recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for meat and fine dining!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

It is fairly expensive fine dining. A place for special occasions, they usually have a feature item and excellent cuts of beef. It's fairly small but we've always managed to get in without reservations. I think it would be a good place to take out of town visitors for great Alberta Beef and Game, they also have poultry if that's not your thing. I find the sides creative and interesting. Of course there is an extensive wine list too. Parking is limited though, the last time my brother-in-law got a ticket, watch those parking signs, even at night!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SoAl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Phenomenal restaurant. My bf took me there on our first date...we just stumbled upon it after getting lost finding our first pick....so glad we found it!! We have made it our anniversary place since, always impressed when we go there.

The food is amazing!! I've had the chicken and duck - let me tell you I have never had better duck anywhere. They manage to take the fatty greasy feel away so the breast is just delicious and perfectly cooked with a yummy glaze. My bf has had the steak and the boar - that boar was a salty piece of heaven, I may have to order that next time! I really appreciate that they have conventional choices along with wild game choices, and they know how to prepare it all very well. Also, they source a lot of their food locally which I really respect.

The servers are well informed, professional, and attentive. The atmosphere reminds me of a hunters lodge, or something of the like, lots of gorgeous wood detail. Definitely rustic-luxury feel to me. I have not been disappointed yet! Counting the days to our 2 year anniversary when we will be back at Open Range again :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

All four of us enjoyed our meals there. The atmosphere was a little up scale, but yet not fancy or elegant. The service was very attentive. Parking was quite small & tight. We parked on the street. I think I might go back for some special occasion. I did think it was a bit pricey.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJoBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Range also viewed

 

Been to Open Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing