We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG Fish

BIG Fish
Ranked #103 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Cross street: 11th Avenue
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Came here before for lunch and enjoyed it. I had the soft shell club (yummy!). Came back again and brought two more friends. We had the clam chowder and the fish tacos. Very delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    54
    12
    16
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Met a friend here for supper and we both agreed the food and service were excellent! We shared 3 appetizers (peel and eat shrimp, mussels and fish tacos) all were very good but the mussels were some of the best I have ever had. We also really enjoyed the Halibut and appreciated that they split our plates prior to serving us, as they knew we were sharing.

Helpful?
Thank Krokker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If seafood's your choice, choose BIG Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We dropped in to BIG Fish on a late, Friday afternoon. We assume by the fact that the dining room quickly filled up round 7:00, that this is an evening/late night spot. We were seated with the caveat that reservations were pending at 7:15. That gave us plenty of time. We sampled the beer offerings and ordered the mussels as an appetizer. The mussels were perfectly steamed and the liquor was divine--served with grilled bread. We had the pistachio encrusted Arctic char and the Manitoba walleye. Both were served on a bed of rice/potatoes and were generous portions. The ambiance is cozy, our server was very friendly and efficient. Upon reflection, those who ordered the walleye said they would try the Arctic char next time--we sampled each others' entrees. We had a warm, welcoming visit to BIG Fish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TAW7507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Our favourite breakfast/bunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The sister restaurant to Open Range is great for brunch on weekends and also for lunch/dinner mid-week. We always make a reservation as this place is busy on weekends - it's been discovered! A good, varied menu and the service is always second to none. Pleasant neighbourhood feel. The food is always good and a little different. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sea food in Calgary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Last minute reservation so we ended up sitting at the bar but this was fun since they were prepping fresh oysters right in front of us and I now know WAY more about choosing and eat raw oysters than I did before. They have made me a fan. The house cocktail list was fun which is important to me as this is a good indicator as to how much the management cares about your experience. It they have taken the time to make an imaginative one that matches their menu then they have probably paid attention to the other details as well. Their Seafood Pot au Feu was great and the saffron was well balanced. I look forward to going back in the summer when there are no drafts from the door opening. If you are sitting on the west side of the bar you will want to keep your coat on during a Calgary cold spell.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BIG Fish also viewed

 

Been to BIG Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing