We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi in Calgary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Globe Fish

Globe Fish
Ranked #617 of 3,513 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hillurst
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Calgary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My favourite sushi spot in Calgary. Inventive and delicious rolls, great fresh fish specials. I have been here many times and it's always a tough choice between ordering my favourite things again or trying something new because everything on the menu seems so good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good food - very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

good food and good service - but the prices are high - busy place most nights. would recommend but only if willing to spend the $$

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJFCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“middle of the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was my first visit here. I ordered the spicy agedashi tofu and it was really good. Crispy batter and nice soft tofu inside. The miso soup was pretty good. The tempura lunch combo arrived and it was so-so. The California roll was sloppy, poorly rolled - the roll wasn't closed on the bottom. The raw fish wasn't bad. The salad was just okay. They got a little heavy handed with the dressing. The tempura shrimp and veggies was really good, though. That was the best thing about lunch. It came to $17.75, which seemed reasonable for that amount of food. Wasn't fantastic, wasn't horrible, might go back to try other things. The service was good, no complaints there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryPrairieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can find better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was at Globefish just before the health services shut them down for a couple days . We make rounds around Calgary trying different sushi all the time . Heard such great things so we went .
Probably the worst service ive had in any restaraunt in a long time . Not sure if she was new or what but was weird to say the least . Hovered over us , then when needed was sitting in the back doing nothing . Then took our last plate before finishing and brought us the bill without asking ??

By then i had enough , found the manager and he was shocked as well , he was great , comp'd the entire meal and said if we come back he would personally attend to us . So dinner was a trainwreck , but the manager saved a total loss of the night .

Might go back , but many others to see 1st :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Been to the globe fish several times and found their unique types of sushi's to be really good. The only thing they could do better is to have a bigger restaurant or open up some more locations throughout Calgary.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank davidnicholsonshawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Globe Fish also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Globe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing