We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Tandoori Hut - CLOSED

Tandoori Hut
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

One of my favourite Indian restaurants in Calgary. The staff is very friendly and the food is great. Last night we had dinner at this restaurant again and it didn't disappoint. I particularly like the Shrimp in mild coconut sauce. The sauce was rich and tangy, the shrimps tender - a perfect combo.
I would recommend this restaurant for good quality Indian Cuisine at reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2TryNewFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
360 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good taste”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

portions small so find it a tad overpriced however good taste

Helpful?
Thank grassislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dry...Super Dry”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I went to this Indian Restaurant on the recommendation of my husband, and it was the most awful Indian food I've eaten in Calgary. We ordered Mutton Chops and a Curry, the chops were dry and hard, I was struggling to bite at them and finally had to leave them there. The curry was alright nothing spectacular in taste or presentation. The saving grace was the naan that was soft and easily chewable.
The drink menu is impressive, especially the Mango Lassi...unique and truly awesome to taste. The staff was well knowledgeable, but the service is slow and dull. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jovita_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So - so”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We visited the Tandoori Hut for dinner this Saturday evening. We had made a reservation although this apparently wasn't necessary, as there were quite a few empty tables. This was our first, and likely last, visit.
In comparison to other restaurants serving Indian food, the menu at this restaurant is more limited. Surprisingly, none of the entrees come with any rice or vegetables.
We ordered the appetizer platter for 2, which consisted of 2 each of kabobs, pankoras and samosas - all were very good.
For our entrees we chose the Rogan Josh with Chicken as well as the Tandoori Prawns, along with an order of Roti bread. The Rogan Josh was to come in a yougurt and herb based sauce, garnished with cashews. We were able to discover only 2 cashews - very disappointing! The prawns were OK, although slightly overdone. The bread was a disappointment - two pieces and one was burned.
Service was acceptable and pleasant, but not exceptional.
The total bill, including two bottles of Indian beer, came to about $55 Canadian. We could have done much better for the money elsewhere!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RotaryRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Tandoori Hut has been the first Indian restaurant we have visited since moving to Calgary in 2008. The food, service and atmosphere was first class. We will be most definitely be going back again. The waiters were extremely friendly, courteous and ensured we had everything we needed. Thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatsomemore1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Hut also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing