We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Calgary Northwest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

After being down on our luck for hotel rooms when driving across the country this hotel was a dream come true! The staff are so pleasant! Always a good morning in the hallway they even stop to pet my dogs & say hello to them. The hotel is spotless! From what I've heard it's newly renovated & what a fantastic renovation at that! The bedding is new & comfortable, the mattresses are a great bed away from home. The breakfast is great (didn't use it much but it smelt wonderful!). We had a nice corner back room on the second floor which had a large entranceway & an updated bathroom. No bath tub but the shower was so beautiful no complaints here! Only negative thing to say & it's very minor is that the doors slam quite loudly. That mostly had to do with the neighbor I had rather than the hotel though. It was a great place to stay after driving across the country & waiting for our condo to be ready. I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysLyndsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are so pleased we could be your last stop before getting into your new home. Thank you for the positive comments. We do have some rooms with a tub/shower combo available but you are correct that most of our rooms have a walk in shower. Good luck in your new home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    305
    100
    26
    18
See reviews for
267
142
44
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I believe it was recently renovated and then re-branded as Days Inn. Aside from the old carpet, the room was very nice and clean. Beds were so comfortable, very large flat screen TV (that even allows you to change the aspect ratio), a fridge, microwave...just what you would want for a pleasant stay. No bathtub in my room but a walk-in shower that you could even sit down in. Breakfast included and some fast food, liquor store, 7-11 within a 5 minute walk. Great access in and out of the city. Definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you mentioning how clean it was! Our housekeeping team works very hard to maintain the highest of standards. You are correct that we've renovated and everything is brand new, even the carpets. We replaced the carpet in all of the rooms and the hallways at the end of June. Hope to see you on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice redone hotel. Staff is very nice. Room is clean, but on the small side. (2 queenbeds) I wanted to take the mattress home!! Noisy air conditioner though. Otherwise quiet, even though it's on a very busy street. Good place to head out to Calgary attractions or downtown. Breakfast room good, the usual waffles, toast, boiled eggs for protein. Only complaint, is the room's door needs a bottom threshold, quite a gap. Let's a lot of light, (along sides of door also) in, and noise from the hallway also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. You may have noticed the previous review also mentioned the threshold. We've listened! Door sweeps have been ordered and they will be installed within the next few weeks. Let us know what you think next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from August 29th/12 to September 4th/12 while getting the kid ready for university and would highly recommend it. Very clean, very polite and efficient staff, decent breakfast all for just over $100/day.
If I had any gripes, it might be that the room doors, on the second floor at least, had huge gaps at the bottom that we stuffed towels under. They may want to install some door sweeps up there.
But that is just nitpicking, I could not find anything else wrong there.
I have never written a hotel or any review for that matter, but thought this place deserved some kudos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear we were your first review, it means a lot to hotels to be recognized! We agree with your feedback about the doors and are in the process of ordering sweeps for all 68 rooms. This should help to reduce the light from the hallway. Congratulations on your new university student! We hope to see you when you come to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here with my partner having just landed at Calgary. Quiet and friendly hotel. Good size room and bathroom. Clean. Good breakfast. Easy parking. Near a small retail and food park. Great place to move onwards into the Rockies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You are right; our location is perfect for quick access to Banff and the Rockies. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Canada!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the best hotels we've stayed at during our trip across Canada!!! It has been recently renovated from top to bottom and they did a fantastic job. Everything is new, comfortable, inviting and stylish. I loved the fact that all the beds (all new mattresses) were triple sheeted. That provided me with a great peace of mind, knowing that cleanliness is a top priority.
All the staff that we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. They obviously take great pride in what they do.
There was also a complimentary breakfast provided, which was an excellent start to our final day of our journey. Who doesn't like to make their own waffles.... fresh from the waffle iron....yummm
Again, highly recommend this hotel and I know you will enjoy your stay as much as we did!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodVanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your great comments! So glad we could be a part of your cross country trip, maybe we will see you on your way back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Recently renovated in June 2012, this motel offered freshly painted rooms, furniture and furnishings, carpet and bedding. Friendly front desk and housekeeping staff and good continental breakfast, including waffles.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We are so glad your enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Calgary Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Calgary Northwest

Property: Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Address: 4420 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Calgary Northwest 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary Northwest. We are conveniently located adjacent to Edworthy Park, 15 minutes to downtown and minutes to Canada Olympic Park, Calaway Park, The University of Calgary and McMahon Stadium - home of the Stampeders! We are proudly pet friendly with an added fee of $15/per pet per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in the rooms. Please speak with the Front Desk for further information about our pet policies. We invite you to try out our guest rooms with plush beds, 40" LCD flat screen TV's, fridge and microwave in every room. Our renovated guest bathrooms include some with walk in tile shower and all with 6 function shower heads and granite counter tops.Enjoy complimentary: Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking. Come see for yourself a boutique style home away from home. Our location makes us great for business travelers, teams and families alike. We are proud to offer competitive group rates! Feel free to call in and speak with management about a negotiated rate for your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Calgary Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Causeway Bay Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing