We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Mexican food in Calgary”

Los Mariachis Restaurant
Ranked #1,322 of 3,513 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Southwest Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food in Calgary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

A Mexican friend recommended it, and I'm pretty sure is the best Mexican food in Calgary. No doubt. I have visited it several times since 2011, and every time I confirm Los Mariachis offers a wonderful menu at reasonable price. portions are good sized, and plates are very well served. Sometimes takes longer to be serviced, because the owner and his wife doesn't have some much servers, but that is not a problem for us, we always enjoy the Mexican singer singing around the tables. We can practice our Spanish language very well. Price is fair and menu is very attractive. I have tried multiple choices, and always happy.... excellente restaurante.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fabryhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food, Authentic Mexican service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here many times and the food is always great, although it has been even better the last two visits! We travel to Mexico often and love the food and find that this is one of the most authentic Mexican food in the city. However, that being said, it also has the most authentic Mexican service in the country too. Its not bad, not at all, just slow. But if you don't mind sitting down with friends and family, listen to a mexican mariachi and eat fantastic food for a few hours, this is the place to do it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyraggs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer, ab
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty good food... this far north :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family lived many years in Phoenix and when in Calgary, we searched high and low for decent Mexican food. The Mole is very authentic and they have some of the best enchiladas in Alberta. I especially like that they serve pickled jalapenos, carrots and onions as an appetizer - reminds me of some of the food you could get from street vendors in the small Mexican border towns in Arizona. This is our favorite place in Calgary when we are hungry for a taste from "back home".

We would definitely suggest if you are looking for some authentic "south of the border" food that is not covered in processed cheese and sour cream, give Los Mariachis a try.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The prices are just too high. No 'free chips and salsa' is pretty much unheard of in a Mexican restaurant as well! If they lowered their prices I would be a regular customer, but because of this I will not be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank drock5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fast and fun lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Choosen due to its proximity to my office, I stopped in here for a working lunch with a colleague and was pleasantly surprised at the fun atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.
We split a plate of nachos and both had enchaladas.
The food is fresh, fast and authentic.

You'll want to return.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Mariachis Restaurant also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Los Mariachis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing