We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good, not just the seafood”
Review of Catch Oyster Bar

Catch Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Transit: 1 block from the C-Train (City Centre of 1st SW stops)
London, Canada
Level Contributor
618 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“All good, not just the seafood”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had great Dungeness crab cakes here, but the flat iron steak was also about the best one I've had in Calgary (which is saying a lot, 'cause there's pretty good steak in Calgary). Just inside the Hyatt. Oysters were pricey, but they seem pricey all over Calgary. Guess that's a consequence of Alberta being landlocked. Overall, though, I'd recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morl8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    76
    45
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love it, love it, love it...”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you like oysters/seafood then there is no question, you really must go here! I have a couple of friends who eat here for every single special occasion, they just won't go anywhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerEB149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“those delicious fresh oysters”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband & I had had a long weekday with the grandchildren & he decided we sure stop at the Catch for oysters. before heading home. So I had to say yes! We had a lovely glass of fruity Pinot Grigio and ordered a dozen freshly shucked eastern oysters. The very pleasant waiter announce that they were shucking western oysters so we said just to bring us those. We ended up eating a few more & a very romantic evening at the restaurant. Must do that again soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here and had a great experience. We split a wonderful smoked salmon appetizer, I had three very nice oysters (you can order them individually), we each got a tomato salad, then she got the mussels and frites and I got the spaghetti with clams. Both entrees were excellent. We split a very nice chocolate and orange creme brulee for dessert.

The only disappointment was the salad, which was ok, but could have used better tomatoes, and maybe another 'note'.

Our server, Kay, was excellent, very knowledgable and friendly.

We a glass of wine, a soft drink, and two coffees, it was $112.

I would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

awesome staff, great food and wonderful atmosphere.... always great no matter when you go! Order the scampi...fantazzzzzztic!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JustmeTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Catch Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing