We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Broken Plate Kensington - CLOSED

Broken Plate Kensington
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Alberta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I will start by saying that the service was a touch slower than I'd be happy with, but when being served the experience was great and the waitress what thoughtful.

The food is fantastic at the Broken Plate. I ordered the lamb chops (done exactly to order) and a few of us shared the fried cheese (to die for, almost quite literally - fried cheese, yah.. its great).

I truly enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant and would return again, without hesitation.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ridiculously slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

With reservations on mother's day we arrived at 5:30 p.m.. The restaurant was nearly empty at the time. We were seated right away and ordered within 10 minutes of arriving. Our meal showed up at the table at 7:00. Three times the waiter came out and apologized beforehand offering us a complimentary bottle of wine. We had already had a bottle of wine between three adults and that was enough. We were with 3 kids! I said I thank you for the gesture, but we don't need one, we need our meal now. There was no reason given except that the kitchen was running behind and the kitchen could not explain and all the meals around us were served. Finally at 7 it arrived and we gorged. Good food. Upon receiving the check he asked if there was anything he could do, like send dessert home with us. We said that would be great as the kids wanted one but we needed to get home. We left and on route home discovered one small tiny piece of cake in the take away container. This was insulting. I wanted to return the piece but we were with 3 tired kids. Will never go back with kids.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlesiaMigneault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

As were were walking around in Kensington on a Friday night, we were concerned that we would not find a spot to have dinner....last minute as usual. We walked by the broken plate, and even though it was full, we managed to get a table for three.... shocking. The hostess was friendly, no attitude, and sat us immediately. Our server was quick, friendly and non intrusive. We got our prosecco and a appetizers quick. the calamari and saganaki were delicoius. We then ordered the lamb with risotto...amazing! We then watched a authentic greek dance, and along with a vibrant atmosphere and plates being broken, it was truly an excellent experience. We were then off to a Persian dance party......stay tuned

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great service but salty food..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

me and hubby love greek food, and i heard from my patient aboutthis restaurant so we tried it and was just worth of one visit, wont come back, i love the service, food came on time but all the dishes we ordered were too salty!! I have to drink a pitcher of water that night when i went to bed..all the food we ordered looks scrumptious but like what i said was too salty for us.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW! If you enjoy greek....the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

loved this restaurant! great vibe, amazing service, delicious meal!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank luxlife2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broken Plate Kensington also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing