We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the pancakes!”

Pfanntastic Pannenkoek Haus
Ranked #2 of 83 Dessert in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Offer over 40 Varieties of the Original Savory & Sweet Dutch Pancakes, plus Unlimited Combinations with our Build-Your-Own Menu and as well as Fully Licensed.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Love the pancakes!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've been going here since I was a kid and it's still just as good and charming as it's always been. Everyone I take here loves it. The food is good, hot, different and plentiful. My husband and I always get the savory potato pancake with bacon, onion and cheese. It comes with sour cream and we spread on some dutch syrup for a hint of sweetness. It is simply divine. The sweet pancakes are crazy good too but way too sweet for me to eat a whole one. Some creative uses of flavours (bacon & apple) makes this place a special treat for breakfast or lunch. Great place to take out of towners, gets busy on the weekends and can be lined up out the door.

Good coffee with a dutch biscuit to start and reasonable prices, the decor is dutch with licorice and other sweets to buy from the counter. I can see why this place is still going strong.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FluffyBunnyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    48
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Best advice: get there early because there is always a lione waiting to get in. Try the savory bacon-apple-cheese savory pancake

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tony2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I dream about the food here!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is one of our favourite places to go for brunch. I love the food SO amazing, the place is clean and comfortable the services is very friendly and quick. Hard to get in on a Sunday due to it's popularity but it is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Authentic Dutch food! Yes please!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A friend of mine took us here since we had never had Dutch food before. It was superb!!! Soooo delicious. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to try Dutch. Making me hungry just thinking about it. :) remember the restaurant isn't open on Mondays or Tuesdays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bergs_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a twist on a pancake...”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

...stop by this place. Sweet and savoury pancakes fill the menu with all sorts of combinations you'll likely never try at home. Light, crispy, wafer-like pancakes filled with delicious toppings will tantalize your tastebuds. A little bit of the stroop (thick syrup) goes well on savoury pancakes. The restaurant is usually packed during Sunday brunch hours so try to get there before 10. The service is great!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdnabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfanntastic Pannenkoek Haus also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Pfanntastic Pannenkoek Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing