We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, severely overpriced.”

Thomsons Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Thomsons Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 3,514 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Stephen Avenue
Transit: Calgary Transit LRT stop directly beside our property.
Description: The newly renovated Thomsons has returned to the Calgary's diverse culinary scene as one of the top spots to experience fresh, locally sourced, contemporary Canadian Cuisine,situated in a space that showcases Calgary's historic architechture and imagery of traditional western ranching lifestyle. We're located in the heart of downtown Calgary - steps from theatres, the philharmonic, galleries and shopping. As we're in the midst of the business centre, we're within easy reach for business lunches or casual meetings. In addition to the renovations, Thomsons is returning with a new feature ' #FreeRangeCulinary'. Thomsons unveils an inspirationally driven menu that uses local and sustainable product with new, original dinner menu showcased each week. Thomsons menus are designed to encourage the natural creativity of our culinary team, and inspire 'free-range' in our kitchens.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good quality, severely overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the hotel at the Hyatt Regency and also the source of the room service for the hotel. While the food is generally good quality if slightly uninspired but ridiculously overpriced. Whatever egg dish you order, don't expect toast to just come with it, that's extra. I had an omelette, toast and Orange juice and the bill was over $30.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daddymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    51
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food is great here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner and esp our breakfast buffet. Would be a great place to take the fam for Sunday brunch even if u are local to Calgary.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank blondellie_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The luxury brunch destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I always go out for breakfast on the weekend. In Calgary, there are a lot of places to choose from, but not many have a brunch buffet. The ones that do have the standard fare and it's not much to write home about. Thomsons is the exception.

There's 3 ways to get breakfast at Thomsons on the weekend. A-la carte, which is the method of choice for my wife, who prefers to get pancakes. The breakfast buffet, which is available both days and only includes breakfast items. Lastly, the brunch buffet, which also includes a carving station and lots more non-breakfast items. I prefer the breakfast buffet, which is cheaper. Besides, I'm usually not hungry enough for meat and salad and dessert on top of breakfast.

Why do I like this buffet so much? The quality. At the far left, you usually see fresh cinnamon buns drenched in cream cheese icing. Then come the standard hot pots full of breakfast items. Sauteed potatoes with onions. Eggs. Bacon and sausage. Steel cut oatmeal, one of my favourites. Nuts and seeds and raisins for the oatmeal. Fruit and salmon. Yogurt. Plus an omelette bar and toast station with assorted breads and pastries. Assorted beverages are served right at your table.

It's not a lot, but the quality is high and it's just enough to fill me up for the day. No deep fried hash browns or frozen potatoes, no cold eggs and meats. Everything is fresh and tasty. The price is a bit higher than some places, but.... well.... you know the rest.

My only complaint is that sometimes you have to wait a while to get a refill at your table, but that's it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlPCalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Family Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We took the kids (5,8) to the Hyatt's restaurant Thomsons for Sunday brunch today. It was a beautiful day to walk around downtown and we had a reservation for 11.00 am. We were very well greeted by the host and promptly seated at our table. The waiter came and took our drink orders and was very strange. He came back with the drinks and then disappeared. Everything we needed from him was painful but everyone else was amazing. The food was very good and had a nice balance of breakfast and lunch options. It was also nice that they were making pancakes, waffles, and eggs bennies made to order.

I would definitely go back but beware of the "strange" waiter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank powelj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Juicy steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had very little time for lunch and so had only one dish. We chose well: Alberta beef. The meat was tender and tasty, the potatoes and asparagus also cooked just right. A nice bottle of Aussi wine accompanied our meal well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomsons Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thomsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing