We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience galore!”

The Rimrock Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rimrock Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #414 of 3,605 Restaurants in Calgary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st ST SW
Transit: Access via Calgary Transit.
Description: Inspired our iconic Palliser Hotel history and the authenticity of the 1920s, the Rimrock Dining room invites you to try Fairmont’s genuine luxury cuisine with the taste and feel reminiscent of the ‘golden-era of travel.’ The Rimrock is open daily for breakfast and offers dinner service Thursday through Sunday evenings in a historic room revived with prohibition-themed décor. You’ll be blown away by the hand-tooled leather pillars and famous heritage fireplace. Our brand new menu created by Executive Chef, Eraj Jayawickreme, is sure to please too. Indulge in our Feta-encrusted Lamb Sirloin paired with confit shallots and warm quinoa salad, the delicious Chardonnay-brined Half Chicken or the classic and succulent Alberta Beef Tenderloin accompanied by Horseradish Pomme Puree and roasted mushrooms. The finale, house-made desserts with a modern twist will leave you wanting more, most notably, the delectable Melting Chocolate Sphere with black pepper sponge, lemon curd and raspberries.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Ambience galore!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely Sunday evening dinner at the Rimrock. The waitress was so friendly and accommodating. Loved the atmosphere in the dining room with the fire burning on a damp, chilly April evening. Excellent food with all courses timed perfectly. A varied menu to suit anyone's tastes with many dietary restrictions taken into consideration.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service was good and the Cobb Salad was delicious. It was a business lunch so I found the space a bit noisy (there were a few larger groups there).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food review”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Food was lovely and very accommodating of toddlers. The wine list was quite limited however the chefs were able to cater to my food allergy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alicimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive and not worth it!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had their buffet at $38. The food was very good but the staff were in a great panic to set up tables for ??? (it was 2:15 PM). Also trying to get a bottle of wine (the least expensive was $50.00) turned the whole afternoon sour. After about 10 min. we were told that they were out of the wine we had selected. We picked another. 10 min. later we were told that they were out of that wine also. I suggested that they could provide another wine at the same price. ( was not interested in paying $62 for an $18 wine) The server said she just worked there and couldn't do that. 10 min.later a manager came by and said the Palliser "doesn't do that" By this time we were finishing our main and the staff was standing over us waiting to wisk away our plates. We said forget the wine. About 5min. after that the Head of ?? came buy to say sorry and "we actually have these wines but the staff were "breakfast staff" and didn't know were to get the wine". He said we could now have the $50 wine. We declined. BTW their mark up on the wines is about 200% - 300%. The room was nice, but we will not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickWCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Really hard to believe you are paying good money and right next to you the staff are taking the tables down and setting up for breakfast?Way to wreck the so called fine dining in Calgary! Will never go back or recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank JDB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rimrock Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Rimrock Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing