We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible attitude from host”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Living Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #183 of 3,513 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible attitude from host”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I need to give this place three stars only due to the attitude of the host (Cliff, is it?) My husband and I were there with 5 friends. When we arrived we were ignored first for about 5 minutes. We were 6 at first and told Cliff a 7th person might be joining us and he got upset saying the reservation was for 6.
The food was very good and the service excellent! Justin was awesome.
When our 7th friend joined us, Cliff wouldn't let us have a chair for him at the end of the table because "someone else was sitting there". No one used the two tables behind us but he wouldn't let us have a chair. My friend had to sit down at the end of the bench not being able to talk to the whole group.
At the end of the night we told Cliff him that wasn't very nice and my husband said "thanks for not letting us have that chair". Instead of apologizing or being nice about it he said "you are welcome" and turned his back to us.
Even though the food is good, as long as Cliff is there I will avoid the place. He makes you feel like you are a bother and you are not welcome at all.
Too bad.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayra05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    46
    13
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Insulting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

An absurd encounter this evening. We arrived via limo for my husbands birthday. Hoping to have a cocktail before heading home. We were greeted by the hostess who stated to us that she would check on availability of a table for six ( we had just come from dinner at vin room which was great). She never came back but a red head wearing true religion jeans came over to tell us that we were not welcome as we had had too much to drink. Sure, we had a bottle of wine with dinner but we were not by any means not deserving of a glass of wine. The red head was not tactful and it was evident that he was hoping to shut the bar down. Instead of telling us this, he was rude and insulting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheese83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
674 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“"Established"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great curb appeal and a nice stroll through the fireplaced patio to enter the restaurant!
Met with enthusiasm and had a reserved dual semi-circular booth arrangement in front of the indoor fireplace.
Appetizers were mostly seafood--but a very nice cut meats and cheeses platter.
Calamari, oysters, house tar-tar were delicious. Prosecco was excellent and creamy.
Chose the "prisoner" red wine from Napa--2011--------excellent!
And proceeded to enjoy their Combination cheese fondue with various meats & veggies.
Specialty house dessert was served and enjoyed. (Birthday)
And always remember to request the House Specialty cocktail---"the SHAFT", as a
palette stimulator!
P.S. Ravioli was over the top!!
Great food and beverage menu. And service was well matched.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonhutch
Level Contributor
209 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Prime pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stumbled upon this place by chance when in town for the stampede. Nabbed a table outside and had one of the best starters we had in a two week Canadian break. Something called a Bucket of Bacon. Clearly and on name alone this was going to be a very good thing. Main course also good but the desert fondue was a little under-whelming. We may have caught it at the end of a long fortnight of stampede action. Very good-looking waiter probably got a bigger tip than they should have but who said life is fair? ;-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ordered the Black Angus Beef Tenderloin. It was fantastic. The service was good, the food was awesome. Had a great lunch. We would definately return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing