We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good selection and quality of food”
Review of Thai Boat

Thai Boat
Ranked #1,629 of 3,607 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good selection and quality of food”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Four of us recently went to Thai Boat for dinner. We were very satisfied with the quality of the food. The menu is extensive with many selections. We chose a section of appetisers and entre dishes and enjoyed them all. The service was very good and the prices are reasonable.
We recommend this restaurant and would go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 969 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service So-So”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I visited Thai Boat and found the food to be very well cooked and prepared by the owner Therm. It is a family-owned restaurant and he is a good owner. He often talks with the customers and prepares Thai food from his native Isan.

Isan is Eastern Thailand, I had chicken panang with cocnut rice and it was very tasty.

Unfortunately the service was so-so...the waitress was not very friendly or attentive and she spoke no Thai.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Captain_Rob_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Thai Boat restaurant is not in the best area of Calgary, but easily accessible off Deerfoot Trail. It is located in a larger building and is not particularly attractive from the outside.
The inside is nicely decorated with some typical Thai statues and a model pagoda.
We appreciated the good service and especially the very quick turnaround between ordering and the food arriving, as the kids did not even have time to start getting restless!
We ordered a selection of starters, which we shared within the group, and they were all excellent. The main courses were nicely flavoured. Be aware that even the sweet-and-sour meals are somewhat spicy - not overly so but too spicy for our youngest.
The desserts are small, but definitely worth trying.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Decent Thai Food”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good food, satisfactory service. The restaurant can be busy for lunch, so if you can get there before 12 noon, the chance of a good table is much better.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Dog face. The food was okay but not I don't like their reaction. Better to developing on it woman. And ur restaurant was very dark by the way

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elephant171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Boat also viewed

 

Been to Thai Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing