We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All restaurants should operate like this!!!!”
Review of Smuggler's Inn

Smuggler's Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Smuggler's Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 3,725 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $36
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Southwest Calgary
Cross street: Glenmore Trail & Macleod Trail South
Description: Smuggler's Inn originally began in 1967 as Bar X Steakhouse, an American company. The current owner, Frank Krowicki, bought out his partners and went to work developing a brand new concept to Calgary. His vision included a mix of casual, late night fine dining and live piano bar. Over the years, the building expanded around Smuggler's Inn, with the addition of Winelite dining room on the west side, and Backstreet lounge and dining room on the north side. As the dining scene in Calgary began to change, Frank too saw a need to change and adapt. The first endeavour was the conversion of Backstreet lounge to Open Sesame in 2000. Open Sesame has been serving fresh, Pan Asian cuisine to happy customers ever since. The conversion of Backstreet dining room to Bolero was complete in 2007. As Calgary's first Brazilian style steakhouse, Bolero continues to satisfy meat lovers with its unique and interactive style of dining. Our latest addition is Tango Bistro, on the west side of the building, which once was Winelite dining room. At Tango Bistro, we bring together delicious, hand crafted small plates and fantastic wine to create a casual atmosphere for all to enjoy. In May 2013, Smuggler's Inn celebrated 40 years of serving mouth-watering Alberta prime rib and steaks alongside many original items, which have made us famous around the world. Four restaurants under one roof keeps us busy, but we wouldn't have it any other way. And the rest, as they say, is history! Smuggler's Group Rewards is a unique program that rewards you every time you visit us. For every dollar you spend, you earn points towards FREE Loyalty Certificates from Smuggler's Group Of Restaurants. Whenever you make a purchase, simply present your Smuggler's Group Rewards Card. We will automatically track your purchases and assign points to your membership. For every 200 points you accumulate, you will accumulate, you will automatically receive a $10 loyalty certificate to redeem on your next visit. There is no charge or fee associated with the Smuggler's Group Rewards Program. Just fill out the application, turn it in to us, and start using it right away.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

There is nothing bad- the end. Seriously, this restaurant can't fail, we been there now easy 15-20 times and each time we get treated like a valued consumer. This was the first time we came with our 3 yr old daughter.

The Server- Jason, awesome, everything came fast, very friendly, he even comped my daughters Salad bar since she did not eat that much. How many restaurants would do that.

No offence to those who give this restaurant a 1 or a 2, but you belong at Mcdonalds, and their type of steaks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank letsbehonest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had lunch Friday this week we both ordered beef dip. I think it's the best deal on the menu as you get the salad/soup bar too. Beef done to perfection, great service and nice quiet dining room. Would go to Smugglers before Cattlebaron.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pzwolfDrumheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We moved to Calgary almost 8 years ago now, and had been meaning to get to Smuggler's Inn, but didn't make the trip until last weekend (Sept 2012). First off, this restaurant is off of MacLeod Trail, and there are a number of restaurants housed in the same building. The parking lot was, unsurprisingly, full. We had to park almost a block away on a side street with no sidewalk.

We had reservations so were seated promptly. Unfortunately, even though we had made a reservation well in advance, we ended up being seated at a table for two at the end of the salad bar, so it was a high traffic and high noise location. The ambiance is a little silly (king chairs - literally like your own throne - huge arms, and the backs went well above your head when you were sitting down, along with some lovely red velvet upholstery ) - and it looks to be long overdo for a facelift.

The service started out quite nice. The server was friendly, and we received our pre-supper drinks quite quickly and were able to order. We then went up to the salad bar (free with entree), and had a bowl of the steak soup, which was too viscous for my taste, and the salad bar. The salad bar was fine, nothing outstanding, but what one would expect. We then had a 1/2 litre of wine which came with supper, again, in a timely manner. I had the 'small' prime rib meal, which was extremely tasty (however, due to its' gargantuan proportion, I took over 1/2 of my meal home & was able to feed another member of the family who didn't go out with us). My husband had the steak neptune, and was quite happy with his meal.

Once we were finished eating, it seemed like the waiter forgot we were there. He walked by our table numerous times (due to its' location), but didn't make eye contact or stop to see if we wanted anything else. I finally had to call out to him on one of his walk pasts, and ask for our bill (about 1/2 hour after we had finished eating). We received it, then had to wait another ten minutes or so to pay using debit.

I would hesitate to try this location again due to parking and the ambiance, specifically. Service changes from one waiter to another, so I wouldn't count it out due to our service experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Sept 21, 2012 - 15 of us went out for my Uncle's 85 Birthday party. The waiter provided very good service but the food was terrible. I ordered a New York strip that was obviously a lousy cut of sirloin. 4 of our party sent their food back for various reason and anyone that had the house wine sent it back and we ended up having to order over priced medioce bottles of wine. Our main courses came out over a period of 15 minutes leaving most of us with cold food while we waited for the Birthday boy to get his meal which came out last. It had been 5 years since I have been at this restaurant which use to be one of the best steakhouse in Calgary. Now it is just a shadow of it's former self. Bad food and hugely overpriced. What a shame. I

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BunnyGarbonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I have been coming here for years. We keep coming back because the food and service are consistently outstanding. Love the salad bar with delicious soups, and everything on the menu is tasty, but we often return to our favourites of steak, beef dip, salmon, and burgers. One Sunday we came here for the brunch and it was fantastic! These people know what they're doing, and you can't go wrong by visiting this amazing restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Happy2travel929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smuggler's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing