We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAMB, the way it should be!”

Santorini Greek Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Santorini Greek Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 3,575 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Cross street: South of Hwy #1
Description: For over twenty years, Santorini Greek Taverna has represented the best in Calgary’s Greek cuisine. Santorini was founded on the Greek values of filoxenia; literally the notion of befriending strangers. Thus, as all guests to Santorini quickly realize, they are immediately made part of the family, whether laughing with host Maria’s comedic personality or joining in on an uplifting Greek dance. While other Greek restaurants have attempted to reinvent a good thing, Santorini continues to offer the classic, authentic tastes of Greece in a welcoming, Mediterranean setting. With over 40 Greek dishes, it promises an unforgettable experience. At Santorini, every day is a celebration!
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“LAMB, the way it should be!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was on a miserable, rainy, weekday four of us (2 couples) ate lunch here. We were invited by the other couple. It was our first time. The restaurant is located on a busy street but, there is parking in the back, which makes it very convenient. The ambiance is definitely Greek, the service is prompt & courteous, the choices are a plenty and the prices are midrange. After enquiring from the "boss" lady about her recommendation, she suggested Roasted Lamb and that is what we all ordered. When I told her that I love lamb but unfortunately most people do not know how to prepare it properly or they serve it cold and therefore ruining the meal, she assured me not to fear, it will be delicious. As we waited for our meal with great anticipation she and another waiter came to our table several times to keep us entertained and served. When the meal came, it looked humongous, it looked good and it was real delicious. As the matter of fact it was so good the other couple ordered two more meals to take home. And if that's not an indication of satisfaction, than I don't know what is. Would we recommend this restaurant to others? Most definitely. As the matter of fact we are planning to go back on a weekend, when there is music, dancing and the plates will be flying in the air. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    43
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our group of six had a wonderful experience at this 30+ year old family restaurant - Santorini on May 3rd, 2014.

The food was a bit expensive but very delicious. We each ordered a different dish and shared.
I loved the Mousaka dish and the roasted lamb. The lamb was very moist and tasty.

Just before we were about to leave, the wait staff performed their traditional Greek dancing and the breaking of plates began. Everyone in the restaurant had a blast.

Next time i return to Calgary, I plan to return for some yummy eats.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank telecomstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed Always Great”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been coming to Santorini since we arrived in Calgary area 10 years ago. The food is nothing less than perfect and the service is excellent. They always treat our family as one of their own and you don't get that type of service any where else. We will be back again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If I could have ate more I would have”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Fabulous lunch choice. Food was amazing and it was much brighter inside than I thought it would be. The dolmathes and saganaki were to die for and avgolemono soup was amazing. Super happy we went here, would go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“$25 for chicken souvlaki?”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Since Mykonos closed, we have been looking for decent Greek restaurant. Santorini was recommended and we were excited to try. The restaurant was 75% full by the time we left - people obviously like this place.

The building is starting to look a bit tired and in need of a major renovation. The lighting upstairs is terrible and the music is too loud. Please remove the tiny waterfall decorated with plastic dolphins/sharks. It's tacky!

We both ordered the chicken souvlaki. For a $25 entree we expected a little more than the two small rolls that were finally delivered to our table. We can get a starter salad, garlic toast and a great steak for the same cost at Nick's. The prices at Mykonos are way out of proportion to the quality. The entree was supplied with a very sad side of (what appeared to be) frozen vegetables and rice. Even Opa gives you a generous portion of fresh Greek salad with their souvlaki (and this is Mall food!).

In Santorini's favour, the chicken was nicely cooked and the portions are a fair size. The baklava was amazing and so was the coffee. The service was ok, if a bit slow at times.

We will continue our quest to find a good Greek restaurant to replace our old haunt Mykonos (sadly missed!).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Withingmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing