We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but Needs a makeover”
Review of Rose Garden Thai

Rose Garden Thai
Ranked #250 of 3,607 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food but Needs a makeover”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Is up a long danky flight of stairs, and deco is "aged, imitation Thai". Food was good but not outstanding, reasonably priced. Service was slow, it seemed only one lady was serving the entire restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank guru4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

From the front of the restaurant you may not fancy going in as it is a bit dated, along with the interior decor, but the service is quick and friendly. The food is great as well, we ordered a green thai chicken curry and a red thai beef curry both being served at the heats we specified. Large portion sizes and one rice is enough to share between two allowing for a reasonably priced meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taloula25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Accidental Discovery”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were in Calgary for the Magnetic North Theatre Festival and wandered down Stephen Avenue looking for supper. The front of this place confused us until we realized that we needed to walk up a long flight to stairs to find the restaurant. The stairs looked a bit dingy so we were not too sure about the place . . . but climbed up to give it a look. At the top we realized how full it was so decided to eat there. The interior looks pretty typical for a Thai place, what was lovely was the uniform the staff wore, very classy blouse and skirt combination. The menu presented a nice variety so we ordered a couple of dishes and some rice for with the meal. When the food arrived we were really impressed, the servings were a nice size, looked really good and tasted just as good. There was not an overwhelming amount of salt in the food which we find some Thai places tend to over-do. When the bill came we thought they had missed charging us for the rice since it seemed lower than we thought it would be. All in all, a nice little place with good food and reasonable prices. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place for Thai”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Been to the Rose Garden about 4 times now. I always make a point of stopping by when in Calgary. Great food, good value and good service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Slidebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Good food and great location. If you like it hot, request the chopped green chiles. Fantastic flavor and heat!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TW747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Garden Thai also viewed

 

Been to Rose Garden Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing