We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eggs Beni Meat rancid February 02-14” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phil's Restaurants

Phil's Restaurants
Ranked #468 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eggs Beni Meat rancid February 02-14”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had the Eggs Beni this aft around 1:30 p.m. The ham was rotten. The chef/active manager said it was just the Pea Meal ham. I explain that it was not just a different taste. It smelt like strong urine and the taste would not leave my mouth all day. Hoping I do not get sick, but I only had the one bite. The staff that smelt it said it smelt bad, according to my waitress. I was offer a free meal, which I ate alone as my family had finished, and only got half way through as I still felt sick after eating the bite of my Eggs Beni. We eat at Phils all the time and Eggs Beni is one of my favorite meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WandaB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    42
    21
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nicely updated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Been a while since I had been at this Phil's, nicely updated. Arrived and greeted very quickly. My associate and myself both enjoyed a coffee, he ordered breakfast, I had the beef dip. Both were good, sure were a lot of fries. Good service, and good food. Great meeting place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quality food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I eat here often, the price is right and good service.
i appreciate their service and friendliness of the staff.
all menu items are good. best restaurant in motel village since the red lobster closed.

the hours are less closes early could be late , all other restaurants in motel village stay late.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good basic food, usually served quick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Usually eat breakfast, decent selection of gluten free items. Try the gluten free waffle..... not bad. Service is friendly and quick. Coffee is pretty good, worth a refill. Weekend staff usually not as efficient as the weekday staff. One of our favourite meeting places for our weekly business meeting. Open early as well (6:00 a.m.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking Experience!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

On Saturday September 21, 2013, we were leaving Calgary and decided before we leave we would all get together for breakfast. We were seated and the waitress took our drink orders, when she returned, as she leaned over to set down some cups she poured the hot water that she was holding in the other hand down my back. Startled and shocked I stood up to pull my shirt and jacket away from my skin, she kept apologizing and took off, another server came over and said can I bring you a cold towel which I was very grateful for. After all the distress and a burning wet back, not one cent was taken of off our bill!! Maybe a little PR would go a long way!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Restaurants also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Phil's Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing