We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fish and chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Pier Seafood Bar

Pelican Pier Seafood Bar
Ranked #542 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Description: The Pelican Pier restaurant specializes in a lightly battered fish, fresh cut fries, and homemade chowder, sauces and desserts. The standard fish is pollock but haddock, cod, halibut and salmon are also very popular. Grilled fish and pasta dishes add variety to the menu. For those dining with a non-seafood lover Pelican Pier also offers a choice of chicken dishes.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
438 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've been long term customers of Pelican Pier, visiting when we have a hankering for fried seafood. I'm partial to the salmon and chips, while my husband enjoys the halibut and chips. The portions are a large size and you can substitute the chips with a salad, which I frequently do. The owner is often at the restaurant serving customers. The décor is very "crab shack-like," a bit dated (I don't think it's ever been changed), and the tables and chairs are basic. We've always experienced good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Calgary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you want great food and amazing service this is the place to go! We have been coming to Pelican Pier for a number of years and the food is always good. Most of the employees have been there a long time so they get to know you. Can be a very busy place but worth the wait. Family friendly as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyCalgary_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location has easy access from 14 street and Laurie Drive. Great service, delicious food, small enough to have that east coast feel and what's especially fine is that it is not a chain restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Small simple restaurant but nicely decorated, Fresh seafood well prepared from chowders to fish and chips and in between. . Also chicken for non-seafood lovers. You can also buy fresh seafood to take home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariana222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“surf up in Calgary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went with two hungry teens, and four adults, (one of them being a senior) on a Saturday night in Feb. It was busy, bu tnot so busy we couldnt get a table for six right away.
Our waitress was very pleasant and efficent. The pop refills kept coming for my sons, and they didnt even have to ask : )
There is a limited beer and wine selection, and highballs if one wants one.
Menu is not huge, but thats a good thing, they dont make the mistake many other places do of trying to be all things to everyone. Chicken is the only other alternative if you dislike seafood.
You have a choice if you want your fish and chips breaded with panko (very good!) or the regular way. Both are great. Big portions that are freshly battered and cooked, not frozen from a box like many other places. My teens finished everything, but were very full. Most of adults could not quite finish, and were given a takeaway box.
We did not try the chowders but will next time but did try popcorn shrimp and calamari appetizers.
The popcorn shrimp was fantastic, definately not pre frozen, but made fresh. The calamari, unfortunately I would not recommend. It was rubbery, and bland. Quite sure it was frozen from a box. This was the only negative of the evening.
There is also a childrens menu for little small frys. It is a family friendly place.
Pelican Pier is clean, reasonable and a little kitchsy, with the nautical theme, but that adds to the charm.
On your way out ther is also a great selection of frozen seafood and side items to take home and cook another day.
Give it a try if your in that neck of the woods, Pelican Pier is a refreshing Mom and Pop place that is a far better alternative than the frozen- fish variety chains that plauge our land locked, fair city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Calamariqueen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Pier Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Pier Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing