We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but food is great”

Oscar's Restaurants
Ranked #414 of 3,551 Restaurants in Calgary
Neighborhood: Southeast Calgary
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southeast Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy but food is great”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not many places serve liver, this is the ONLY place I go to when I have the want, I can't cook it like Mom but this place can! Huge portions and comfort food delight, the smoked meat sandwich is another favourite as are the salads and burgers. Family restaurant and can feel a little crowded but the food is worth it! Friends come down from the north side of the city just to go to Oscar's when we want to go out for comfort food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Calgary comfort food with good (smiling) service!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Reading some of the previous reviews I was sure that we'd get some good food and cold service. But this wasn't the case at all. The experience at Oscars was quite enjoyable and our server and hostess very friendly. Admittedly there was a server that walked around with a bit of a scowl, but we had Georgia and she was great.

Family style restaurant with a decent wine and beer selection and more or less comfort food items with some wok stir fries. Dry ribs were tasty and plentiful. Burgers really good and veal cutlet cooked to perfection. Caesar salad slightly on the over dressed side but overall very good. Lots of seniors and families so something for all.

Oscars shares the car park with their sister restaurant next door, so despite the signs in the lot saying WP parking only you're still ok to park and eat at Oscars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LongWayAcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty burgers”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the Stetson Village Motor in across the road and thought I would try this restaurant out. I had the bacon mushroom cheddar burger and it was very good. I believe it was homemade and has a half pound if beef. The serving of fries that came with it was also very large. I couldn't finish it all. The waitress was friendly. The burger, fries and a bottle of beer was $20. Decent price for good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedPony138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
204 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A friend and I had an early lunch at Oscars
The hostess was very welcoming and friendly as she seated us, bringing coffee and water very promptly.
We ordered the soup,salad and garlic toast. Everything was delicious, the soup was piping hot and just what we needed on a very cold April day. Refills of coffee were brought without us having to ask

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chanel16calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Nice”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We Loved It! We dined there on our anniversary and it was marvelous. Coming from New York, i have had a hard time finding good food in this City. However, the food and service was impeccable and the lovely lady hostess who is also the owner was very gracious. I would very much recommend this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Restaurants also viewed

 
 

Been to Oscar's Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing