We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice buffet”
Review of New Dynasty

New Dynasty
Ranked #1,358 of 3,599 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice buffet”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a good place for a buffet with a richer decor than many others in this city. There is a good selection with more seafood than usual.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoodoomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    25
    8
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and fantastic chinese food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a beautiful restaurant to sit and dine in - they were very polite staff and certainly didn't rush you to get finished. It was a nice change to have hot plates on which to put your food which came very promptly to the table. We had salt and pepper prawns on a bed of shredded onions and red peppers, chicken in palace (spicy) sauce with onions, water chestnuts, red and green peppers, mushroom fried rice and chinese broccoli in garlic sauce. The broccoli could have been cooked a little bit more as it was too hard to cut - however we took all the leftovers home for the next day and I steamed the broccoli more and it was very good. At the end of the meal we were given - complimentary - two little fruit tarts - nice finishing touch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishAnne_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Buffet”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I decided on a whim to try this restaurant after finishing shopping. We were tired and hungry and were ready to settle for anything at that point. We were happily very surprised with the quantity of items offered on the buffet. Each warming tray was replenished promptly and the food itself was delicious. You are not rushed and can visit the buffet as often as you wish. Very reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“party choice”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My girlfriend chose this restaurant to hold our engagement celebration party with 3 other school friends of ours last 2 weekend. She chose it because this is one of her favorite Asian buffets in town. The food is as good as usual and the thing worth mentioning is I think having a party here is great as it fits our budget while providing delicious food and nicely decorated environment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reliable favorite”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have often frequented this friendly, capably run restaurant in NW Calgary for its buffet, usually on Sundays. We are often greeted on entrance by the restaurant's matriarch. We have always found the food to be of uniform quality and quite dependable in its tastiness, but, of course, we select what we wish from the large buffet trays. Seafood is a specialty on some days, but a large variety of freshly stocked dishes is always available. We most look forward to the desserts, which include rice pudding, tapioca, and vanilla and chocolate pudding. I like to overlay the tapioca with vanilla pudding --- a great combination! Recently a tasty coconut favored gelatin cake has been available. The buffet is quite reasonable in cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank efmCalgary_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Dynasty also viewed

 

Been to New Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing