We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't honestly say I'll be back...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nellies Cosmic Cafe

Nellies Cosmic Cafe
Ranked #1,071 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mont royal
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't honestly say I'll be back...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

At the recommendation of a friend, my wife and I had breakfast at Nellie's cosmic eatery-thingy... Portion size was generous, but the food was very bland and the fruit was not very fresh. Seating is limited on the patio, and it was too stuffy to sit inside. I found the price for a two-person breakfast to be reasonable, but I still wouldn't come back. There are just so many places that do a better breakfast nearby.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Re C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    6
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Go Here!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I tried this place once in the spring and again the following winter...its clear to me now that their low standards of basic hospitality are usual expectation.

The restaurant is disgustingly filthy with crumbs left by the night before's patrons. The food is some of the worst I have had anywhere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodGuy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I don't even know where to start, the thing that I first noticed was the 1/4 inch of dust on all the knick knacks hanging all over the walls, the place was filthy, and i don't have high standards. We had a seat where we could see in the kitchen and it was gross...gross. I should have walked out at that point, but you never know sometimes the tastiest food is in the not so mice lookin' places...not so here. I had a huevos like dish I can't remember what it was called but is wasn't good, the avacados were brown and stringy. It's breakfast people, how do you screw up breakfast?

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krustybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GO big or go home..... seriously”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Tables are a little close, but really... if you are hungry, just order a REGULAR MEAL... or you will be trying to stuff toast and eggs into your pockets... fast fast fast service even if there is a line... the owner is a little disconnected from kitchen staff we noticed, the kitchen was faster than the owner liked perhaps LOL

Helpful?
1 Thank digitaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“12 years of public health violations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Januray 2010, Nellie's was fined over $60,000 for 12 years of violations that included mouse droppings in the food, improper handling of food, improper food storage to improper cleaning of utensils. Apparently, all five Nellie's locations were implicated.

Helpful?
3 Thank dak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nellies Cosmic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nellies Cosmic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing