We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Muse Restaurant - CLOSED

Muse Restaurant
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: French, American, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kensington Road
Description: Energized Fine Dining. Composed Dishes. Creative Multi-Course Dining Experience. Passionately Seasonal. New American Cuisine. Located in the heart of Kensington. Unqiue atrium style restaurant. Sexy and contemporary space. Private dining rooms. Private Chefs table. Five course or eight course Chef's Tasting Menus. Extensive wine list.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved the food and service. Can't say enough good things about it. If you dine there as an indiividual or have a function there. Our last visit was for a private funtion (60th Birtday) and Muse did a fantastic job with delicious nibbles and the service was impeccable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlannahJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear AlannahJM,
Thank you for dining with us again at Muse and for leaving a very lovely comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy to read that you enjoyed everything from the food to your service. We would love to host your next special occasion or make a reservation for you for dinner. Please feel free to email us anytime at contact@muserestaurant.ca. We will see you again soon! Sincerely, Muse Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My visit to Muse was an awesome experience! It's hip yet cozy, the layout of the restaurant is interesting being on different levels but creates a warm intimate atmosphere. They start you off with truffled popcorn which is delicious and gives off the most amazing aroma when you enter the restaurant. Our party had the tasting menu which was great, beef tenderloin and salmon which were both cooked to perfection and tasty. We had duck confit to start which was amazing with a cherry compote. For dessert we had a hazelnut chocolate mousse that was delicious.

Service was good and the wait staff were knowledgable about the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abnewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear abnewft, Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and for dining with us at Muse Restaurant. We appreciate your feedback on the atmosphere and the food. Chef always offers a five course and an eight course tasting menu and we are happy to read that you enjoy dining this way. If you have any further comments or would like a reservation in the future, please do not hesitate to email us directly, contact@muserestaurant.ca. Sincerely, Muse Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Must Visit...”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been wanting to visit Muse for awhile and we couldn't help but notice that their ratings have been rising over the last year. We (group of 6) decided to take advantage of Calgary's 'Dine-out' food fest and included it in our 'tour' this year.
We were quite surprised that included with the set menu was a complete wine pairing. We don't consider ourselves wine connoisseurs so it was nice that they had put the pairings together and that we got to try 4 different wines through the meal. Dinner started with a Potato and Beet salad that was refreshingly good. I'm not a huge fan of beets, I find that they're so earthy that they actually taste like dirt. However it's been hard to avoid what I call a beet movement that's going across the city so I'm slowly developing a taste for it. The salad had no hints of the 'dirty' taste so I actually finished the entire plate. The soup course was a surprise for us, who thought rutabaga soup could be so good. A soup bowl was presented and showcased some key ingredients; honey pear balls, pickled pearl onions, a drizzle of poultry jus and of a piece of very crispy chicken skin. The soup was then poured over the ingredients to form a velvety smooth concoction where all the ingredients came together and justified their purpose for being in the bowl. We all agreed that we could have had another bowl and that we would be back for another visit for the soup alone. Also, what a great way to transition from an earthy salad into the mains, very well thought out. For mains I had the beef short rib with cauliflower puree and potato but also tried the arctic char with white bean and root vegetable cassoulet. The portions were generous, we were glad that we were not served bread prior to the meal but instead had a nice truffle popcorn to start. While the mains were delicious, it was hard to follow the performance that the soup gave. The desserts were very well presented, light and not overly sweet. The citrus parfait with green tea cake was refreshing as the citrus cleansed the palate. The Chocolate Millefuille was airy and nutty with little crunches of sweetness.
Overall our meal was very memorable and we all agreed that we'd be back. The service was great, the service team consisted of 3 or 4 people but our waiter made sure he was always there to explain the dishes and then to check on the satisfaction. The food always came out together, glasses were always topped up, it was a very well orchestrated, coordinated and polished team. The ambience was also very nice, it's a cozy quiet space that lends itself well to dinner conversations, a nice break from the typical stark finishes you'd find at other french restaurants. I can now see why their ratings have been steadily rising. I think that this is great place to introduce someone to french food and particularly a great place to visit if you're tired of the tiny, dainty presentations that are often associated with french dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary_Foodie_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Calgary Foodie,
Thank you very much for dining at Muse Restaurant during Calgary’s, “The Big Taste” dine-out week. We are so happy that you and your guests enjoyed your dining experience. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standard.
Your constructive feedback makes us very proud of our kitchen and service team. Your positive comments about the overall satisfaction have been shared with the Muse staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Muse Restaurant in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly and we would be happy to make a reservation for you.
Sincerely,
Muse Restaurant Ownership
contact@muserestaurant.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went there for my birthday. Lovely ambiance. Lovely service. We had the 5 course tasting menu. The whole table has to go for the tasting menu otherwise no-go. It will take approx 2 hrs, so it's a leisurely dinner. Love their truffle oil popcorn and cheese biscuits. Started with amuse bouche of oyster with caviar minuet. 1st course was raw steel trout. 2nd course - egg yolk ravioli with crispy pork belly in bacon broth. 3rd course - sea bass. 4th course - veal breast. Last course - chocolate dessert. Most course was excellent. Only exception was veal breast which was too salty. When we mentioned to server, we got a cheese plate added to the meal and amount taken off the plate. Like I said, lovely service. Won't hesitate to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgary4togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Calgary4togo,
Thank you very much for dining at Muse Restaurant and for your Trip Advisor review. We are very happy that you and your guests enjoyed the Chef's Tasting Menu dining experience. We greatly appreciate your comments about the overall service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Muse Restaurant in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly and we would be happy to make a reservation for you.
Sincerely,
Muse Restaurant Ownership
contact@muserestaurant.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I keep coming back”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am always impressed by Muse. The chef clearly puts a lot of thought into the menu and the serving staff are extremely knowledgeable. The whole feel of the meal is special. On this recent visit I had the winter pear salad which was stunning and the lamb which was cooked to perfection and served with pickeled shallots which were delicious. Our server was able to recommend a fantastic wine by the glass which complemented everything. Service and food this good will see me return again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MiamiHeat12,
Thank you very much for dining at Muse Restaurant and for your Trip Advisor review. We greatly appreciate your comments on the service and the food, as we are constantly striving to achieve the highest quality standard. We are happy that you enjoyed everything. It is nice to know that you keep returning to dine with us. Please let us know when you will be visiting Calgary again from Miami and we would be happy to make a reservation for you.
Sincerely,
Muse Ownership
contact@muserestaurant.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing