We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small quaint setting....”
Review of La Trattoria D'Italia - CLOSED

La Trattoria D'Italia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small quaint setting....”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Small casual setting and service was good, as we arrived early. Used a groupon ($19) and menu was set at 1 ceasar salad, 1 pasta dish (your choice) 1 pizza thin crust (your choice), which one has to share. Food was good....although regular price we felt a bit high for the main dishes, as well as the coffee/tea we ordered extra.
Overall experience good!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to eat in Calgary!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This authentic, longtime family-run restaurant is situated in a strip mall. I have eaten here several times and everytime, no matter with whom we dine, we are greeted like family.
Also like family, I complain about the wonderful Italian dishes presented in tiny serif font on sepia-tone paper in the menu. They do have an aid (like a magnifying glass) to help folks like me. The staff have a true, direct Italian flare...and it's part of the experience.
You can't miss on any dish. The Gnocci has been reinvented/perfected here, but please be sure to split the order...it's huge for one person. The restaurant draws big Italian families which may result in a boisterous weekend dining experience. When you reserve for a couple (on a weekend for sure), ask for a table along the back (kitchen) wall.
My dish? Penne a la Vodka...al dente!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza ok, pasta inedible.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I went in using a Groupon. We ordered a margarita pizza and pasta carbonara. We tried the pasta first and it tasted like something they pulled out of the trash. It made my husband and I both sick with stomach aches after only two bites. We ate a slice of the average pizza only to get the taste of the awful pasta out of our palate. Service was fine. My recommendation, don't go unless you want to get ill!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Quaint little restaurant in a quiet part of Calgary. We went in with a coupon from Groupon - not quite sure what to expect, but felt right at ease right from our phone call for the reservation.
We were amazed by the fabulous selections on the menu, and had a hard time choosing. We chose the Seafood Ravioli and split a pizza half Meditrainian and half all meat. The Ravioli was melt in your mouth delicious!! The pizza was fabulous!
if you would like to get away from it all and have a fabulous meal - this is the place to go!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevornKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our first choice!”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is our first choice when dining out in Calgary. Excellent fresh Italian food, fabulous friendly service, outstanding value! A family run restaurant in a quiet neighborhood. Real Italian pizza, fresh pasta and amazing seafood platters! Can't wait to go again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSandCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria D'Italia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing