We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Quiet Moment”
Review of La Casa d'Italia Ristorante - CLOSED

La Casa d'Italia Ristorante
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Description: La Casa d’Italia Ristorante is family owned & operated by Nick & Pina Ricioppo & family. We believe in serving Italian food the way it was meant to be – simple dishes made to order with fresh, quality ingredients served in generous portions. We are proud of our Italian heritage, the food and the wine and want to share that with you. Without being pretentious. Without being ostentatious. Just being real and true to what Calgarians should expect from a great Italian restaurant.Nick & Pina Ricioppo arrived in Calgary in 1968 and have been proudly serving authentic Italian cuisine ever since. After a brief retirement, they were pulled back by their desire to share their passion and to feed Calgary’s dining public with the real Italian food they crave.La Casa d’Italia – Classic, Authentic, Italian. Proud recipients of the “Ospitalità Italiana Restaurant Quality Seal, the 2011 Calgary Choice Award for “Best in Fine Dining” and the 2012 Consumers Choice Award for "Italian Restaurant".
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Quiet Moment”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

When you pull into the parking lot it doesnt look like much, but as soon as you cross the threshold a calming effect takes over. I had dinner on my own (on business from TO) needed comfort food and a quite place unlike all the other fashionable Italian eateries that dot the Calgary and Edmonton landscape where you cannot even here yourself think. The waiter suggested the Grilled Eggplant appetizer and the house gnocchi...it was made the way it should be "soft pillows" in a rose sauce, with two glasses of red and a large bottle of sparkling water...all good and tasty...white linen table cloth...families and friends...the owner came out and served a couple next to me a dish not even on the menu and then sat down to join them in dinner and a glass of wine. Anna stopped by several times to check on my meal and me...offered on the house a cold lemoncello liqueur to finish the meal...most appreciative...will be back next time in Calgary. With tax and tip $70.00 I splurged on the two glasses of wine, otherwise under $60. Buono Appetito!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luncheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Casa d'Italia Ristorante, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and it was pleasure to have met you! By the way, the weather hasn't improved out here ;o) Glad to hear you liked the limoncello - I'll be sure to pass that on to my mother as she made it! We look forward to seeing you again soon, take care! And thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Delicious Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family saves this restaurant for special occasions, as it is a real treat to enjoy their food and service. It is a great atmosphere with excellent food. It is a bit more pricey than our family usually goes for, but it is totally worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2820, General Manager at La Casa d'Italia Ristorante, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our restaurant - it means a lot to us. We're glad you enjoy yourself when you are able to make it down to see us! Thanks again and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon! ~ Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Service, Nice Room !!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Dinner for 5, we all went home very satisfied . Appies,Entrees and Desserts awesome . One of the best lasagnas I've had (very tomatoey sauce and very tender pasta). Pork special very tasty, the fish eaters in the crowd loved the Cod. The homemade Creme Brûlé and Tiramisu very nice. I'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yyc_skyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2820, General Manager at La Casa d'Italia Ristorante, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much! The lasagna is homemade from scratch and the pork loin bracciole you had was our maternal grandmother's recipe. Pina (my mother and one of the chefs) makes the creme brulee and tiramisu as well! It's very important to us to keep things as fresh and as authentic as possible and we really appreciate your taking the time to talk about your experience! ~ Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary , Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“about as italien as it can get...”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Reservations on a friday night , the Meal was outstanding. 4 People and everbody loved there Selection. The Service was exellent and profesionell . The Owner (Nick) made sure everthing was cooked just right and that Dinner was a Success , which it was.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duslbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2820, General Manager at La Casa d'Italia Ristorante, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for joining us on Friday night! We're so glad you all enjoyed yourselves, it was a pleasure to serve you! Nick (my father, one of the chefs & owner) loves to visit with our guests and I'm glad you had a chance to meet with him! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon! ~ Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Each visit is even better than the last”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We dine here every couple of months and each time seems better than the last. It is always a truly enjoyable experience. The food is outstanding, the best linguine vongole in Alberta. There is a vast selection of wine and the servers are always happy to help make a selection.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlissaJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2820, General Manager at La Casa d'Italia Ristorante, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you! The Linguini alle Vongole is definitely one of our more popular dishes! It's all prepared fresh and we're thankful that you enjoy it and that you took the time to tell people about it. Thank you as well for the comments about the wine list - we work hard on it and want our guests to enjoy great wines that made by people who are passionate about what they do and at a price that will allow most people to enjoy them! Thanks again so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon! ~ Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa d'Italia Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing