We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

La Brezza Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
La Brezza Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Ave & 9th St NE
Transit: Bus #9 stops next to our restaurant. C-Train, Bridgeland/Memorial
Description: La Brezza, meaning ocean breeze, is considered to be one of Calgary's finest Italian restaurants. Opened in 1987 and still in its original location - once the owners house, La Brezza continues to offer an elegantly simple Italian cuisine, emphasizing traditional home-cooked goodness. You can enjoy a satisfying lunch and dinner menu with daily specials and you can even indulge on Sundays as we are one of the few local restaurants open 7 days a week. We pride ourselves in offering great food, great service, and a warm, relaxed atmosphere. See you soon!
Moose Jaw
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Attended a wedding rehearsal dinner Sept. 20/12, for over 20 people, including several children . It was a set menu with several courses. The food and service were OUTSTANDING. Would recommend this cozy restaurant to everyone! Can't comment on price as this was a hosted evening, but the hostess was more than pleased for the value received.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for coming to spend time at La Brezza!!!!

We were greatly pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. It warms our heart to read that your experience was a positive one.

25 years in business has shown us the value of feedback and for this we thank you.

Have a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Best regards,

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    114
    47
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Homey Ambiance, Delightful Food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The owner Marco and his staff are outstanding and we found them to be very personable. They have options to customize the menu to suit personal tastes. We absolutely love the basement seating (when it's available) giving a quiet peaceful meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for coming to spend time at La Brezza!!!!

We were greatly pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. It warms our heart to read that your experience was a positive one.

25 years in business has shown us the value of feedback and for this we thank you.

Have a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Best regards,

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food was good. Expected more based on reviews”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to the restaurant based on the reviews. The food was good and my husband had the calamari which he said was excellent. The restaurant is in an older home on a street corner so new beautiful views and it is not a classic older home with character just an old house. We were disappointed with the ambiance and atmosphere as we did not think it was anything special at all.
The food was good as was the service however nothing was exceptional other than the calamari and we have had equally as good food at several Italian restaurants in Calgary. I am a vegetarian and for an Italian restaurant, the selection offered was very limited. We went out of our way to go to this restaurant and would probably not bother again. It was good but not worth seeking out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A disappointment...”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food was good, but Marco, the owner, ruined our evening: he came to our table and started to tell my wife how beautiful she was, there were 3 women and myself around the table. He asked in friendly way what was the ocassion, our friends mentioned that it was our bithdays, Marco offered a drink only to my wife. Then he came two more times to tell my wife that she was beautiful. My wife was very uncomfortable and he was not getting the hints from me until I said in Italian: "Good Night Mr." He left, never returned and did not bring the drink. He does not seem to know what harassment is and his behavior was creepy. He has been in Canada for a long time and should know by now was is appropriate and what is not here. He ruined our evening. Our friends said: once is more than enough, three times making advances, in front of the husband, is too much. I hope he reads this and change his behavior with his paying patrons! And stop touching women when he talk to them! The evening wasn't what our friends planned to celebrate our birthdays. Thanks Marco...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank DavidSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have eaten at many restaurants in calgary and this was the best meal my wife and I have eaten in Calgary. The experience was great as well. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Feedback is extremely valuable but so rarely given; especially when it was a good experience.

That is why I love my customers!!!!!

I pleased to read that you had an enjoyable experience, i thank you very much for letting us know what you liked and look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards,

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brezza Ristorante also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to La Brezza Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing