We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and very delicious!”

La Brezza Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
La Brezza Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,770 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Ave & 9th St NE
Transit: Bus #9 stops next to our restaurant. C-Train, Bridgeland/Memorial
Description: La Brezza, meaning ocean breeze, is considered to be one of Calgary's finest Italian restaurants. Opened in 1987 and still in its original location - once the owners house, La Brezza continues to offer an elegantly simple Italian cuisine, emphasizing traditional home-cooked goodness. You can enjoy a satisfying lunch and dinner menu with daily specials and you can even indulge on Sundays as we are one of the few local restaurants open 7 days a week. We pride ourselves in offering great food, great service, and a warm, relaxed atmosphere. See you soon!
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Marco is an incredibly charming host. He turns a lovely night out into an evening of fun, friendship and warmth. The food is amazing, especially the escargot, which I usually skip. And the attention that is paid to each table is something that Vancouver restaurants can learn from.

A gem of a restaurant, one that I will visit every time I am in Calgary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cathrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is because of wonderful customers like you that we have been in business for 25 wonderful years.

Thank you for coming in and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and have a great day.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 608 of 801 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

The food was really delicious and not heavy like some other Italian restuarants. It's a cozy atmosphere and the food is very reasonably priced. If you like Italian food, you must eat here!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DemetraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is because of wonderful customers like you that we have been in business for 25 wonderful years.

Thank you for coming in and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and have a great day.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were a party of five and between us had a fair sampling of the offerings. Everyone enjoyed everything. I had the lamb rosamarina (tomato-wine reduction) which married perfectly with the lovely, reasonably-priced Amarone we ordered. The penne side dish was a treat all by itself. I was a little surprised by the large quantity of food served. Typically, food of this quality is apportioned in almost sample servings. I, personally, didn't have room for desert but those of us that did weren't disappointed.
I'm surprised by some of the less-than-positive reviews I see here. Calgary's a pretty busy place these days and word is that restaurants are having trouble keeping staff. I'm guessing that La Brezza might be experiencing turnover troubles from time to time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is because of wonderful customers like you that we have been in business for 25 wonderful years.

Thank you for coming in and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and have a great day.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

From the moment we walked in my girlfriend and I felt very welcomed and comfortable in the environment. The staff, including the owner Marco, were very friendly and helpful when we had questions about the menu. Overall the food was delicious and the experience was amazing. The calamari was unbelievable. Don't miss out on this hidden gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rk2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is because of wonderful customers like you that we have been in business for 25 wonderful years.

Thank you for coming in and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and have a great day.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I wonder how many pedestrians and motorists pass by this unassuming restaurant without realizing the fine cooking that comes out of its kitchen. A small and simple homey atmosphere tastefully decorated with images of Italy and quirky lights is made more cosy by the warm welcome from the proprietor and the waitstaff. But bring your appetites because the food rightfully takes center stage. The four of us enjoyed:
-the prosciutto and melon appetizer (excellent)
- the special (bruschetta, house salad and stuffed chicken -- bruschetta is a must, comes with piping hot wedges of bread)
- cannelloni (superb and highly recommended)
- linguini alle vole (extremely fresh clams)
- pesce spada alla genovese (hearty)
- creme brulee (classic)

And on the house, a panettone which was delightfully eggy and lemony in just the right places.
Service was attentive and personal. Be prepared to leave stuffed and glowing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Odathot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is because of wonderful customers like you that we have been in business for 25 wonderful years.

Thank you for coming in and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and have a great day.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brezza Ristorante also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to La Brezza Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing