We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Irish pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Joyce Irish Pub

James Joyce Irish Pub
Ranked #12 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Irish pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

My friends and I went here for a taste and reminder of when we all lived in Ireland. It was a nice place with wooden interiors that definitely set the scene. We sat out on the nice sunny patio for a few pints before eating. Sadly my first two choices from the menu were sold out for the day, but my third option was still there and deliscious. They were missing a lot of what I would call typical Irish menu items. It was very much a Canadian menu with some Irish flare. We enjoyed our time there though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twistedtippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    147
    48
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre Irish pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Completely indifferent towards this place. My first experience with this establishment was when I went here to apply for a job and I was told to come back after the lunch rush -- it was barely 1130am and there was absolutely no one in the restaurant. I revisited the place again the other day and it was mediocre. I was in a group of 8 and the place wasn't even busy and somehow took nearly ~20 minutes to get our first drink. The server was excruciatingly slow and didn't pay much attention to us. I had to manually sign my credit card slip and I totally added it up wrong (I don't feel like the server deserved a $5, she got $3 instead), called the restaurant to clear that up with the managers. When I asked to speak to the manager on duty, the hostess just gave me this rude tone and said to call back in two hours and hung up. Not entirely sure if I'll revisit this establishment in the near future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pub fare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had lunch here on the July 1st holiday. Three fish and chips and one steak and mushroom pie were devoured in minutes! Great beers on tap and delicious cocktails. A definite must while visiting downtown Calgary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pizzagirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A fine Irish meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. It was awkward getting seated - something simple seemed life an adventure. From there on, the service was great and the food was very good. We had traditional Irish fare and they have a wide selection of beers on tap. We'd go there again any time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We attended an event at this pub. They put on a great authentic Irish carvery complete with roasted ham. The staff are wonderful and looked after everyone very well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Joyce Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to James Joyce Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing