We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formula joint”
Review of Hooters - CLOSED

Hooters
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Formula joint”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Needed to discuss some business stuff over a beer. Given the environment and lousy atmosphere, prices were very high. $7.20 for a domestic, big name, mass produced draft???? I had to wipe the food particles off the table before sitting down. The fact there were only 7 other patrons in the joint tells all. We left, and went to the Banzai, a small sushi place downtown, where the beer tasted the same at almost half the price, and the food was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive yet average eatery.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Small portions, high prices, beautiful women. The staff is friendly and nice. Come for the service. Clean and bright atmosphere makes for an enjoyable average experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good before game meal.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My grandson, son and I where going to a Calgary Roughneck Lacrosee game and decided as this was a fun outing to stop at Hooters. The steak sandwich I had was great and the other meals were good as well..no complaints. The service was a bit slow but it was a Saturday and about 50% full. The servier was very nice and friendly. I would go back, but this in not like the Hooters in Texas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt.mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What Happened Hooters?”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you have ever been to a well run Hooters in the US this place will be a huge disappointment! From the service, to the atmosphere, to the food it is all sub par and you may as well keep driving North or South on Macleod Trail and you will find something better than Hooters and if not then go hungry and you'll be happier.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_and_Jo-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The only thing big here is... the disappointment”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My first - and last - visit to a Hooters Restaurant. Not worth the hype - service was poor despite being 75% empty. The sandwich was good, true... but the "side"of soggy coleslwas served in one of those little plastic medicine cups was not what I should have ordered. Now, in the age of political-correctness I suppose one of the initial successful strategies this chain had is no longer a hiring-criteria... but they better come up with something if they ever want regular guys like me to eat there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing