We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience”

Da Guido Restaurant
Ranked #2,023 of 3,573 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I last visited this place several years ago and brought my family here this time. We loved it! The carpaccio and mussels appetizers, and our seafood entrees were all so delicious with a well-balanced blend of spices and sauces. Service was friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGH780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strange service and bad attitude crushed our Christmas mood!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We got dinner there as a present and it was our first dinner without our little kids since last April! We were really looking forward for the that. But when we got our table waitress forgot about us for long time and did not even offered the drinks! She and 2 others were walking around our table and cheering people but not us for some reason. When we finally asked for attention the older man came (looks like he was the manager of that place) and asked if we are ready I said with the smile- yes long time ago. But instead of apologize he started to shout that they do it their way etc. and Completely Crushed our Christmas mood! He acted with bad attitude did not try to cheer us as a customers and did not bother to bring our drinks at all. He was walking around us and loudly wished Good Christmas to everybody but we were outsiders. We were need to reorder our drinks with another waiter after we got our food!! I was in tears because of such disappointment. The food was ok but made very fast you do not have break between courses. Needless to say We will Never go back to this restaurant!!! The last thing I need is to be upset in my rare night out!! Shame on you Mister waiter!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ikma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Visit this lovely restaurant and you won't be disappointed. Everything is freshly made with the correct spices and herbs. The service was attentive and relatively quick. Good portions. Absolutely loved it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
574 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Italian at it's best!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Da Guido hardly ever fails to impress---specialty appetizers are always
delicious--But to our surprise--the scampi was rubbery, and not on a bed
of the usual arborio rice---lightly breaded veal was excellent--lamb, lobster
tails and steak were all superb. Accompanying pasta had tomato/bacon and
onions with a light tomato sauce for the table, delicious!

All of Guido's desserts are mouth-watering.
Staff are the best--Thank you Sam!
And the wine presentation is ideal for gourmet Italian dining.
Definite repeat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Have eaten here for several years now”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Always good, excellent quality, great service, nice surroundings, good Wine list. This appetizer is really excellent the Scampi Al Burro Scampi in a garlic butter served on a bed of Arborio rice and the Melanzane Parmigiana, Grilled eggplant covered in tomato sauce, mozzarella and parmesan cheese then baked to perfection is second to none. This dessert is really outstanding, the Bacio Bianco Bellisima! White chocolate ice cream kiss with a raspberry center is worth the visit to this restaurant if you like this combination. Look forward to eating there next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Guido Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Da Guido Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing