We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chicago Chophouse - CLOSED

Chicago Chophouse
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 5th street
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food was superb. Service was outstanding.Good menu,nice choices.Didn't have to wait too long for our food either.Quite private and inviting.

Helpful?
Thank Waggs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    15
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Your typical steak house restaurant & meals. Food quality was good, ambience was good, but DEFINITELY not value for money in my view. WAY overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaoMan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good steaks and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked dinner online through Open table and were surprised to be taken to our table in the lounge, but as soon as I asked for the dining room they accommodated us.
The server knew his beef cuts and we were impressed by our meals. Good wine selection. Nice atmosphere but the ladies' washroom was something like you would find in a 2 star pub - they really need to upgrade that for a 5 star type restaurant. (one door missing on a stall, the hook missing in another stall, and really just a bit grungy)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A pit stop on the way back to our hotel after having just ate and wished we had found it first. Did have a small nibble on the olive tray! The place was hopping and the menu looked great. They even have one of the best near bears we've had.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manotick
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worst Prime Rib I have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not even the sparse outfits of the young serving staff could make up for the prime rib. First, what went well. The before-the-meal beer was cold, the vegetables properly cooked and nicely spiced. That was it. The mashed (?) potatoes were a gelatinous mass and the prime rib was awful. The thin piece of meat draped over everything else on the plate (no doubt to make it look thicker) was overcooked, too thin, stringy, and tasteless. Inedible. To add to the disaster, the wines were overpriced. After fighting with a few bites of this awful excuse for beef, I refused to eat the meal and turned down the offer of a steak. (It was never clear if the steak was offered free or not.) To make matters even worse, if that is possible, they added an 18% service charge without telling us. We were a large group and others expressed displeasure, albeit not to the degree that I did. I would never ever consider going to this place again. This place could single handedly ruin Alberta's reputation for excellent beef.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Chophouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing