We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cattle Baron

The Cattle Baron
Ranked #20 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inspired by Wellington's Fine Dining of Calgary, the CattleBaron Steakhouse and Bar was created and designed as a casual alternative for the upscale steak enthusiast. Soon recognized as Calgary's premiere casual steakhouse, the CattleBaron offers our guests the finest quality Alberta beef, carefully selected wines, and world famous western hospitality and service. Using the freshest ingredients and homemade recipes passed on for all to enjoy. From business clientele to families alike, our guests can enjoy lunch or dinner in a comfortable atmosphere that is both affordable and relaxed.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great steak here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My friend and I went to Cattle Baron for a ladies night out dinner and were impressed with the quality of food and enjoyable atmosphere there. The restaurant is clean with a pleasant decor. The tables weren't too closely packed like other restaurants sometimes have. The waiter was helpful when we had trouble choosing from the menu and attentive throughout the evening. Other patrons seemed to be having fun and the mood was relaxed and not snobby or uptight. Our meals arrived hot and were both of generous portions. My steak was delicious! I would say the only thing that may stop us from returning was the price but overall was a fabulous dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moochie-La-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    123
    44
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Given the reviews, I expected a lot more from the restaurant. Had the prime rib, and while it was decent, it was not something to write home about. Service was very good, parking terrible, but overall we enjoyed the meal. Not sure we will return though.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenHinSask1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
210 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

At the recommendation of a friend, I stopped by the Cattle Baron to try the baby back ribs, which he said were fantastic. Being a bit of a rib afficionado, I was pleased to see their ribs were infused with JD's BBQ sauce, which gives the meat a smoky-sweet, tangy flavor. Sadly, I didn't find the ribs fantastic at all....just average. Not fall-off-the-bone tender, I had to work at it to pick the bones clean. I certainly wouldn't rate the Cattle Baron's ribs in the top 10 that I've eaten. My date really enjoyed the Steak Neptune, tender and grilled to perfection, covered with seafood morsels. The calamari appetizer was average as well....nothing to rave about. All-in-all, I was disappointed in the ribs, but the food was good, the value was good, the atmosphere was relaxing, and the service was excellent. I'll be back to try a steak the next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donnyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a great meal in the lounge at the Cattle Baron. It consisted of appetizers. The wings were great really meaty and we also had the lamb pops they were just amazing. Also the dry ribs are a must. The wine by the glass was fantastic and there is a good variety to choose from. I love the environment here and the service never disappoints.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stylin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a beautiful steak house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Cattle Baron was highly recommended to me by a good friend, so I made my way down. I was very pleasantly surprised by the menu to see such a great verity of food choices. I love both beef and seafood and there was a great selection of both. The atmosphere was perfect and the server was very knowledgeable overall.

If you are looking for great food and atmosphere look no further the Cattle Baron (steak house).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cattle Baron also viewed

 

Been to The Cattle Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing