We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second trip!”
Review of The Cattle Baron

The Cattle Baron
Ranked #22 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inspired by Wellington's Fine Dining of Calgary, the CattleBaron Steakhouse and Bar was created and designed as a casual alternative for the upscale steak enthusiast. Soon recognized as Calgary's premiere casual steakhouse, the CattleBaron offers our guests the finest quality Alberta beef, carefully selected wines, and world famous western hospitality and service. Using the freshest ingredients and homemade recipes passed on for all to enjoy. From business clientele to families alike, our guests can enjoy lunch or dinner in a comfortable atmosphere that is both affordable and relaxed.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second trip!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very contented beef is served here. Chocolate Utopia is to die for, leave room! We both had the ribeye steak, me the 14 oz., my wife, the 10 oz. both perfectly done to our order. The dishes arrived quickly and hot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeye56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    126
    46
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse in town!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was at the cattlebaron N.E location yesterday and came in with a group of people. The food was amazing and our server Joyce was attentive, but not overbearing and was always around when we needed her. Will highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great steak and great service. Will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to meet family”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We met our son there for supper and a visit and it sure fit well for the occasion, We went to the lounge side and the ambience was very good along with the food and service Because both our son and us live some distance from Calgary they allowed us to sit and visit several hours and catch up on what was happening in our lives. So thanks to the folks at the Cattle Baron.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

more expensive than your average meal but well worth it. Every item on the menu is delicious especially steak salad. Seafood also very good. Salmon recommended. Service is always awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank kkmarklinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great steak but pricey”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a good experience sitting on their patio recently. The steak was good - but over priced. I'd pass next time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cattle Baron also viewed

 

Been to The Cattle Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing