We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have always had interesting entrees with this franchise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #7 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Neepawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Have always had interesting entrees with this franchise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

A tip if you are visiting this restaurant franchise, order one of the chefs creations. You will not get standard fare. It will be a perfect blend of ingredients that add to the flavor of your entree. I had salmon with a mustard based sauce that was excellent. My wife likes the Hunter Chicken and our freinds had ribs. Their wine list is a little more expensive than the Keg list but varied enough to make a good selection.
Our server had time for us and took the time to describe entrees and wine choices. She said she had worked there for 5 years and had an obvious pride in her employment.
The portions mentioned by others may not be huge but we personally do not feel you have to go home stuffed. We felt portions were just right.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Take_me_away2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    206
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bellini heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Love the ambience of the Cactus Club, it is a great place to go with friends, always lively but still private and quiet enough to have a good chat session.

We split a bunch of appetizers as we couldn't decide what we wanted, one of them being the prawn ravioli...wow so rich and decadent, I couldn't imagine eating more than two of these, what a treat. We also had the beef carpaccio, calamari and flatbread appetizers. All delicious, but the calamari was a little too over seasoned once we hit the bottom of the plate.

Service was a bit lacking towards the end of the evening due to a number of large groups in our section but all in all a positive experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YYCMtnGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Same old same old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked a table (well, booth - what is it about Canadians and booths?!) for 6pm. Already crowded since everyone eats so early. So service was slow, food was indifferent at best, poor at worst. Do not have spicy chicken legs as a starter. The competition to serve big courses in Calgary reaches ridiculous proportions in every sense with this dish. Apart from thinking 12 wings as a starter is just silly, the 'spice' part was truly awful. Sent it back and should have refused to pay. Expensive mediocre wine, overcooked vegetables and some chicken which purported to have a cheese topping which might also have been lino. Attractive waitresses who smile well but have no idea about food or wine. Avoid like the plague.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never miss stopping here on every trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an excellent spot to either unwind after getting off the plane, or unwind after a long work trip, before getting on the plane.
Good location that is pretty close to the airport.
Service is always top notch - attentive, knowledgeable, friendly
Food is consistently good.
Clean with a great atmosphere

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leavethesn0wbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I always try to plan in the time for a visit to this restaurant when we visit Calgary. The food is excellent, creative and beautifully displayed. The atmosphere is modern, comfortable and the bathrooms are worth a visit just to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing