We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really tasty Indian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Restaurant

Taj Mahal Restaurant
Ranked #392 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really tasty Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My cousin and I went to the Taj last Thurs for a nice meal.Unfortunately the buffet wasn't on (I think it's on only Sat nights and during lunch) so my cousin started ordering. We had vegetable samosas, lamb samosas, chicken pankora, and some sort of vegetable that looked like it was thrown in the deep fryer. We got 2 sauces with the appetizers, a hot mint one and a sweet mango sauce, and both were exceptional. Afterwards we got the main courses: lamb korma, butter chicken, beef curry, 2 basmatis and about 3 kinds of breads. The main courses all came in pretty small servings which was kind of a shocker when you're paying over $12 per dish, plus you would have to order the rice separately. We also had a drink on top of that and the bill was a whopping $116. But I have to say the food was really good in spite of the sizes they came in and we had a small little leftover bag when we did leave but not much. I'd say go for the buffet (I'm sorry, I don't know how much they are) and at least you'll get your full quota of food. The restaurant itself is located in the basement of the building and you have to park in the back of the restaurant for easy access. It's dark and small but it is quiet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    5
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Taj Mahal has undergone a lot of cosmetic facelifts lately. They've repainted, gotten new tableware, and really cleaned the place up. Thankfully they haven't changed the food, which is some of the best Indian cuisine in Calgary. Their lunch buffet is excellent, well labelled and you get a ton of variety for a great price. They also serve nan bread tableside now, which is a huge improvement (they used to keep it in the buffet on the steam table, and while it tasted great, the texture got a bit soggy - having it fresh to the table makes a massive difference).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank elborto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Happily suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've drivin by this restaurant many times on mccloud and always thought it was a furniture store. The value is great here if you eat like a family from India. Share your dishes. And I loved the many options on nann bread. They have a lunch buffet but the quality isn't nearly as good as at night al a carte

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wolffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The only draw back we found with this restaurant is the inability to understand the menu. Most everything ordered had a sauce.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great service, not the nicest looking place. Once you get past the way it looks going down the stairs, you will be pleasantly surprised!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Totheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Restaurant also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Taj Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing