We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken Tacos A-May-Zing”

Earls Calgary Dalhousie
Ranked #1,902 of 3,514 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Chicken Tacos A-May-Zing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I've had their Chicken Tacos twice lately and must say they are delicious. The two tortillas are small, loaded with salad and plenty of seasoned chicken pieces. A slice of lime and extra sauce comes with it. This is a party in your mouth sensation - not spicy hot, but a medium touch of zing that is most satisfying.

Although the restaurant is quite wide open, there's enough space between tables to give the feeling of privacy. Lots of windows give it a light, airy feeling. And in the summer that patio will probably be well utilized.

Staff are friendly and down to earth, but well dressed in predominately black outfits.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glee2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
170 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“They have the best burgers going!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I lunch here once a month or so. The burgers are the best I've had. The servers are always well dressed and professional. Looking forward to sitting on the renovated patio next spring!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghuizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
511 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Good value, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We ate at Earls twice whilst staying nearby at the "English B&B" during the period of the Calgary Stampede.
The menu is extensive and good value.
The food was well cooked and well presented.
Service was excellent.
We chose to eat in the informal area, rather than the "proper" restaurant, because we enjoy people watching and activity around us.
This is good basic food at a fair price.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Very good salt and pepper wings. Lovely slushy drinks. Had the bacon burger, bacon was good burger not so good. fries...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

Very good salt and pepper wings. Lovely slushy drinks. Had the bacon burger, bacon was good burger not so good. fries were dry and overcooked.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but not returning to this location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

Like most Earl's restaurants, the Dalhousie location provides a variety of good contemporary food and good service. However, this particular restaurant was very poorly designed with regard to noise. It's a huge open room with a hard floor (no carpet), hard walls, and bare tables with wooden chairs. The only bit of softness to absorb sound is the upholstery of the booths. As a result, even a moderate number of diners makes the room so noisy that it is very difficult to carry on a conversation. Since one of the main reasons I dine out is to enjoy the company of friends or family, I will not return to this Earl's unless it's at an off-peak time or the interior design has been substantially changed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Country_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls Calgary Dalhousie also viewed

 

Been to Earls Calgary Dalhousie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing