We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #170 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southeast Calgary
Description: Located only a block away from the Chinook Center, Calgary’s most popular mall, the Macleod Trail Cactus Club is in the middle of the action. The restaurant has won awards for “Best Patio in the City” - not surprising when you consider the luxurious fire feature that is one of only two in the company. In addition, the location boasts both award winning service and the culinary genius of Canada’s only Iron Chef, Rob Feenie.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this Cactus Club a few times and have never been disappointed in the food, atmosphere and service. I was here for business and ended up grabbing a single table by the window. The service was prompt and the staff were friendly which is nice to see as some places can be quite snooty. The food and the value of that food is similar to joeys, earls, etc...

Would recommend it if you are here for business or as a date night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    56
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

the food was good with a few different things on the menu. bothe the Raincoast and Rocket salads are good. The short rib sandwich is very good as well

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfer16532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HIgh energy and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I like the menu here it's fusion so the variety is interesting. its never quiet. would be nice if the servers actually wore clothes that covered.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mia2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you read any of our reviews you know that the Cactus Club on Barlow in Calgary is our families go to restaurants in Calgary, great service, great food, great friends we have made in that restaurant. Cactus Club MacLeod Trail carries on the tradition, but I must admit as we don't go as often it is a bit more of a formalized dining process compared to the friendly service we get up North.

The Tuna Tataki, Short Rib, Jack Daniels ribs and the children's Mac and Cheese are family favorites for us. The restaurant is much smaller than the North location so you may want to call ahead for a reservation so you are not let down by a long wait if you show up at peak hours. If you decide to eat here I don't feel you will be disappointed and it is better than some of the other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_and_Jo-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleased once again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food is always great. Our waiter was nice and had a sense of humor.
The only down is how very busy it gets on the weekends, with lines out the door after 6pm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing