We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old Italy and comfortable”

Buon Giorno Ristorante Italian
Ranked #157 of 3,605 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mont royal
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very old Italy and comfortable”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just were looking for a place to eat supper and I am happy we chose this restaurant. The atmosphere is very italian style and quite a few people were speaking italian. The food is good. I had the special which was a veal chop with lots of vegetable and a nice mushroom sauce. I enjoyed it very much. My husband had the veal scallopini with a cream sauce and rotini pasta. The pasta was overcooked but the veal was good he said. Good wine selection and desserts are limited. Service was a bit brusk by our waiter however he was there to pour the water and wine so he was watching his tables. The place was full as it was weekend. I would go to eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    61
    14
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do you love Italian food?”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stop in for great food and drinks in a family run restaurant...the owner is usually around checking on his customers and his daughter has been seen taking the patrons to their tables....

Helpful?
1 Thank raceshopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with this visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

If it was possible to rate this place by stars it would rate a minus 3 , never before have I eaten such poor food ! I had a veal chop that was covered with a thick gravy that tasted like it was produced out of a packet ! My wife had a Lasagne which was so thick it was inedible .. The ladies washroom was in a disgusting state ! Need I say more about this very poor place to eat. ,!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaell154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Liked this restaurant very much. The food was tasty and prepared well. I would definitely return.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nogobev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Really great food here, and huge selection of pastas! I am a little disappointed in the price increase and the fact that the three-pasta feast became smaller, but in general, this is a great restaurant. Never disappointed!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Giorno Ristorante Italian also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Buon Giorno Ristorante Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing