We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Owners & Service”
Review of Antonio's Garlic Clove - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Antonio's Garlic Clove
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Owners & Service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

As a vegetarian, there wasn't much choice for me on the menu (there was one or two things). However the owner went out of the way to prepare me my own dish off menu which was greatly appreciated.

Our diner party requested a wine that was sold out, so the server actually ran to the liquor store to retrieve it.

5 stars for service all the way.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dont love garlic? Dont go!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I LIVED this place!!! Yes everything has garlic in it, hence the name. If u don't like garlic, stay home!! Stinky steak, chocolate covered garlic cloves, ohhh yaaaa!!!! But probably no good night kisses: u will stink afterwards

Helpful?
Thank QueenFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As the name suggests there is garlic in almost every dish! So you have got to like a bit of garlic to come here. The garlic in some of the dishes we had was a bit overwhelming so it was nice to have a dessert at the end with no garlic. I would say that this is an ok restaurant to have a meal - everything was fine but did not feel like there was anything that was particularly great or made me think I would like to eat there again so I would not particularly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnO955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy New Year with Tony”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We rang in the New Year over a scotch with Tony after a delicious meal. We started with Pongy Prawns and Spicy Prawns as an appetizer. One of our friends wanted a mushroom appetizer that wasn't on the menu, so Tony whipped something up for her. We enjoyed Rack of Lamb as our entrée. It was a full rack, which is hard to find in restaurants these days. For dessert I had the apple garlic pie.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was difficult to give this restaurant a correct rating. They scored 5 for service, ambiance, decor, promptness, accommodation. And in our menu choices, one of our appetizers was outstanding (the Garlic Pork Dumplings - incredible dish), but the other appetizer was very disappointing (Garlic Clove - baked brie in bread). My meal of Tiger Ling pasta was delicious shrimp served on boring white flavorless pasta. My partner had Linguine Pescatore, which had lots of seafood, but didn't taste fresh or have a nice flavor. The oddest thing was that our meal ended with a complimentary white and milk chocolate covered roasted garlic clove. Not sure if there was enough to bring us back here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's Garlic Clove also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing