We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, free airport express, clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Just a one night stay when we came of from our transatlantic flight. We arrived late in the evening. Just give the hotel a phone call and they pick you up from the airport. It takes about a 15 minutes drive to the hotel. We had a two-bedroom-room. It was nice to take a plunge in the pool after a long flight. The next day their airport express took us back to the airport to pick up our rental-car. Shuttle service is for free.
Nice bathroom, good mattress, clean and spacious enough. Breakfast was oke. Good value for money. I’m not used to using plastic mugs, dinerplates and cutlery. I think that’s a bit weird for a hotel but anyway. Just an fine hotel, nothing more nothing less. Don’t expect to much personal touch in hotels like this one, but than for me this kind of huge hotels are just to sleep, if you need more personal touch stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice hotel in light industrial area near airport.
Complimentary hot/cold breakfast was very good (Hot was scrambled eggs,bacon & biscuits).
Once logged into wifi with directions card in room works fine.
Waterslide is surprisingly fast for it's small size.
Pool is a good size.
Parking is good and staff is mostly friendly.
Room is a good size and very clean.
Fast access to most parts of city via McKnight Blvd.
If I was picky the only thing I could knock is that one staff was a smidge grumpy.
All other staff were very cheery.
Pillow covers are labelled soft and firm for pillow types in the room!!

Nearby restaurants include Moxies less than a block away.
A few blocks south there is Tony Romas and several others.
If you enjoy burgers/shakes, it's about a 10 min drive to Peters Burgers.
A selection of about 40 different flavours of shakes. Well worth the excursion
for this drive through.

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OccasionalTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family in the Calgary area. Cheaper during the week night stays but overall not badly priced. We had a king room on the 4th floor which was very spacious with a fridge and microwave, 2 flat screen tv's, couch/sitting area, large bathroom with walk-in shower. Desk area to set up you laptop and wi-fi. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and the staff at check in very nice. Breakfast every morning consisted of eggs, bacon/sausage, pancakes, yogurt, muffins, cereal etc - so lots of choice for everyone. Always plenty in supply. There are plenty of restaurants in close proximity but you have to drive to them or go to the Sandman next door where they have a Moxie's Restaurant. We had a room that faced the main drag - I would ask for one overlooking the parking lot next time so I didn't have to listen to the traffic but other than that this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: No views but those facing the highway are noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Traveling for business and the rooms are great but the wireless is terrible...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel was WONDERFUL!!!! The pool was really great with a waterslide and we usually had it to ourselves. The staff was super nice. The room clean with a fridge and great movies on the TV. The breakfast was amazing with bacon, eggs, and pancakes. What a nice place to stay on our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Engrid_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed for five nights, June 28 through July 3rd at the Holiday Inn Express which is behind the Samaritans Purse (Billy Graham Evangelical Association) building near Calgary Airport. The main road that used to go to Calgary Airport (Barlow Trail NE) is detoured and it caused us trouble in finding the Hotel after our flight landed at Calgary International Airport. The Hotel staff could have advised us beforehand during a telephone conversation inquiring about shuttle service if we could not get there in time for our car rental..

The hotel room was clean, spacious and very well kept. We were very satisfied with the cleanliness, decor, and sights from the hotel room, facing adjacent to the Golf Course. The Express Breakfast menu was good, the food was well prepared and a good deal included with the price of the room. We have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and now Alberta, and the HIE Hotel and Suites Airport-Calgary is good value for the money. We travel on a budget and Holiday Inn Express is usually our first choice nowadays when we travel.

The front desk staff at Calgary are not as accommodating as they are at other HIE we have stayed at, but they did get the job done when requesting a later check out time.

If going to Calgary again, we would certainly most likely stay at the Holiday Inn Express Calgary-Airport again. It is in a good proxmity to airport, downtown and also easy to get to the Trans Canada Highway to go to the Rocky Mountain Resorts.

Would recommend out of town travelers to bring a GPS with them if they rent a car like we did. It made navigating around the city so much easier with it. Many restaurants are within 5 to 15 minutes from this location. KFC, Boston Pizza, The Keg, Tim Hortons, McDonalds, Taco Bell, Wendy's, Dairy Queen, are just a few blocks away.

We would grade this hotel as reasonable price, good service and overall, very good place to stay.

We like the suites, as they have a sitting room, extra TV, fridge and microwave. For a nominal fee, they make the stay much more pleasurable.

We would certainly rocommend this as a place to stay in Calgary!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotiaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you like new things at a reasonable price, this hotel is hard to pass up. Not sure when this hotel was built but it appeared no more than one or two years old. The room was spacious and very clean. New and trendy decor with comfortable bed (kind of firm) and soft pillows. The A/C worked well and the air quality was very clean (unlike other hotels with stale air). The wall mounted flat screen provided a clear picture. Not sure all rooms have a microwave but mine did. My stay was only overnight but enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icomment4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#44 of 110 in Calgary
631 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport North
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary

Address: 45 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
#28 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Holiday Inn Express Airport Calgary’s outstanding guest service and expect a great rest in one of our 101 elegant and spacious guest rooms. Located south of Calgary International Airport (YYC). Hotel amenities include free airport shuttle, free wired and wireless high-speed internet access, business centre, pool and waterslide, fitness centre and guest laundry. Each guest room includes at least one 32” LCD TV, large work desk with ergonomic chair, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and voice-mail. Our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast Bar is served every morning in our Great Room – start your morning off right with the world’s best tasting cinnamon roll.Jetting out on a vacation ? - leave your vehicle here unattended for just $7/day for a maximum 7 days. The Holiday Inn Express Airport Calgary would love to be the host of your next corporate or leisure meeting. We have a variety of meeting rooms to accommodate between 10 to 100 people. Family suites and jacuzzi suites available for the perfect weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Airport - Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing