We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Property on the Northwest Side of Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Best Property on the Northwest Side of Calgary”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Sandman Inn Calgary West comes with everything one expects........clean comfortable rooms, pool/hot tub facilities, a Denny's restaurant on site and close to Calaway Park/Banff National Park.......this is probably the main reason we've stayed at this property........if your headed to Banff the next day, then you can stay at the Sandman and get an early start the next day.....you're right on the outskirts of the city......there is a Wendy's across the street and a Petro-can as well.....and Canada Olympic Park is across the street......(great mini- golf there!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback for our property. We do strive to ensure that all our guests have similar stay experiences as yours during their stay. Calgary NW does offer lots for people to do and having great access to Canmore/Banff/Lake Louise if perfect. Hope you had fun at Mini Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    56
    62
    30
    37
See reviews for
73
60
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

had booked a room for one night many months ago. Tried to book an additonal night online a few weeks before we travelled but there was no availability. When we arrived, I asked about an extra night and thankfully they could accommodate us. Turned out to be a King suite (room 301) it was quiet and clean. The front desk service was excellent. What really made this special ... I paid with "Lucky 13" cards (Sandman frequent traveller rewards) for both nights and they really "took care" of us. Much appreciated. have stayed there previously on business and it's always good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjv55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
275 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This week we booked last minute at Sandman Hotel Calgary West at Bowridge Dr. It's very conveniently located beside the Stoney Trail NW highway 201 exit by McDonalds and the Canada Olympic Park. From here, we drove North 8 minutes to Crowchild Trail NW. Since it is the 100th anniversary of the Calgary Stampedes with over 100,000 visitors to Stampede grounds each day, we chose to park at Crowfoot C-train station near Nose Hill Drive NW. From there, for $2.75 /adult or less than a couple dollars per child, we were able to secure seats on the C-train that was brimming to the max (passing Dalhousie station and University of Calgary) before the train reached downtown Calgary. During rush hour, one man told us he'd waited for a fifth train before he was able to board amid crowds on the platform! Almost a half hour later, we entered the Stampede grounds via Erlton Station, the quietest Southern station beside the rodeo Grandstand. After fun games and entertainment in the baking sun, we were pleased to end the day in the Denny's (attached to the Sandman hotel) for late night dinner and drinks. Despite a lack of complimentary breakfast fare, the hotel's situation next to the diner was perfect for a family with children. The sleep in our neatly made, clean room was inviting after a full day at the Stampedes. Drumheller's Badlands or Royal Tyrell Dinosaur Museum and Banff National Park (1.5 hours in either direction from the hotel) await in the upcoming days!

Room Tip: Fireworks at 11:00 pm can be seen from bedrooms at the front of the building. We preferred a quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were given the keys to our "non smoking" family Suite ~ opened the door and the air reeked of smoke ~ my cousin phoned down to the front desk and my sister sat down on the bed in the front room which rolled forward and she almost ended up on the floor ~ there must have been a leg missing or something. The bed spreads wee stained and the rooms tiny and cramped. We were asked to come down to the desk and there were n more suites left so we had to book 2 separate rooms at an added cost of course. These new rooms were fine with no smoke odour. THere were stains on one of the spreads in one of the rooms

The next day when we came back to the room and one of the keys didn't work. From the other room I called the desk and had to go down to the desk to get new keys instead of them bringing the new key up to the second floor for me. When I got to the desk I was asked for picture ID which they hadn't told me ~ luckily I had my purse with me!! I would not have been a happy camper to have had to go back upstairs to get my ID.

I am not usually a woman who is hard to please and part of my dismay at the evens in this hotel may have been because we were in Calgary to attend a memorial service however i do expect clean bedspreads and a non smoking room that does not smell of smoke

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Lobby was nice, too bad the room was not of the same standard. We had a very dated suite, and the cleanliness was below standard. There were room service dishes in the hall beside the ice machine the whole time we were there, and we're smelling rotten. The one Wifi connection is painfully slow. Router disconnects regularly and was not top on the priority list for the staff to check. There are better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toocold00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here numerous times, in fact 5 years ago, we spend our wedding night at this hotel. A lot has changed since then. The air conditioning was not functioning at all, room was at 26-28 every night. It was very good at making noise though. The hotel was full, so I can understand that there was nowhere else for us to go. This I understand. My big complaint was the dishonesty of the housekeeping staff. We went out for the day, when we returned my wife noticed that her $600 custom fit orthodontic mouth guard was missing. She had it in a cup with cleaner in it set on the counter. It was gone, she went down to the front desk, she was passed on to to the shift supervisor and lodged her complaint, she soon returned to our room with the lady that cleaned our room and informed us that we where wrong or lying because she did not empty a glass in our room, and even if she did she always cleans the glasses in the sink,my wife asked to speak to the manager, she told us that he does not work weekends and does not like to bothered on days off!!! Unbelievable. Ten minutes later my wife used the bathroom and the toilet does not flush. Up to the elbow in toilet water into the trap and guess what we found? That's right, the mouth guard. Back down to the front desk, I informed the head housekeeper of our find, she told me that she would get the cleaner and herself to come to the room and apologize. Well we checked out 40 hours later and that apology never did happen. I have never seen this amount of udder incompetence in one poorly managed facility in my life. Did I mention that a waiter in the attached Deny's resteraunt emptied a glass of coke in my lap with a misplaced elbow, and then complained to me about the lack of tip when we left?
We will never use this or another Starwood branded hotel ever again, and I would suggest no one else either.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joker1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I really want to give this hotel a "poor" rating, but I'm giving it an "average" rating bordering on "poor".

When I checked in, I was shown to a room that had obviously not been cleaned. The carpets and bathroom floor were dirty. The kindly front desk clerk gave us a different room, which was cleaner, but the tub was not clean. It had gray tinge and a definite ring. Bathroom fixtures should sparkle, not have a dirty film. Calgary has hard water and cleaning staff should know that a little spritz with a liquid cleaner is not going to cut it. They have to scrub to get the bathroom fixtures clean.

I really wondered if I had clean sheets. The sheets and pillow cases were threadbare and didn't have a fresh, clean smell. As a matter of fact, they smelled a little musty. I didn't use the blanket on the bed, because it was definitely dirty. There was a large crusty stain that looked like...er...baby formula. Fortunately, there was a clean one in the closet.

The cleaning staff in this hotel have not been trained on how to clean a room or they don't have enough cleaning staff.

The layout of the suite was nice, but the sofa was very uncomfortable. It felt like a few springs were broken.

I thought the front desk fellow that worked at night was helpful and friendly, but some of the young women that worked during the day and evening, were aloof and lacked in basic customer service skills.

I agree with some other reviews about the wireless internet. Most of the time pages wouldn't load or I would lose my connection. When I voiced a complaint about the internet, the front desk clerk just shrugged. If you need a reliable internet connection, this hotel is not for you.

The location can't be beat if you want to be in the far west end of town, close to Olympic park and Springbank Airport.

Room Tip: The area near the pool can be noisy if there are kids in the hotel. This isn't an issue for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nogobev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#42 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing