We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punches way above its price point!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Annapolis Valley, NS
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Punches way above its price point!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Canada’s Best Value Inn in Calgary’s Hotel Village is one of the cleanest hotels I can recall staying in right down to a “Clean” remote for the TV, something I have never seen before. The hotel is fairly conveniently located, but does include a tricky turn on or off the Trans-Canada/16th Avenue. The free continental breakfast was surprising for the price point of the room, with 4 types of cereal, fruit cocktail, sweet buns, juice, and coffee, with a small sitting area in the lobby and more seats outdoors. In addition, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The room itself was not much different from any other highway motel, except that it was much cleaner than any other with hot water and good towels. The Wifi had a good strong signal and the only problem/complaint was that the TV signal was not so good. There are several big chain restaurants on either side. Overall, this hotel is a great deal for the price I paid and better than many higher priced hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our motel. Your positive and honest feedback is greatly appreciated and assists other guests on their travel decisions. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    93
    53
    22
    19
See reviews for
55
70
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A very dirty room. Very bad and stale breakfast. All the guests had to share a pot of cheese which was too strange. The bread was too hard and smelly. The room was too old and dirty. There were stained of sticky honey on the table. The customer service was not acceptable at all!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solmazkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am shocked to hear of your recent experience with us. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service so this concerns me that this level was not even close!
Our Housekeeping team works very hard to ensure our rooms although dated, are extremely clean and meet and exceed both the standards our guests deserve and want.
Our express continental breakfast is usually seen as very satisfactory. We have a very small breakfast area, however encourage people to eat at our outside tables or even take back to their rooms is the space is filled. Our breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, fruit, a selection of 4 cereals, toast, bagels and various breakfast pastries that are delivered daily from a local bakery.
Our focus has always been on great service, clean rooms and an exceptional value.
Again - I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days at the end of April 2014. Nice small cozy inn. Cleaner than almost any other place I've stayed! Cleaning girls were great. Front desk staff were great. This is the second time we've stayed here and it will likely be our go to place when in Calgary in the future as well. Oh and the flat screen tv was really nice as was all the channels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Krae389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We appreciate our guests feedback in assisting other guests. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days. Great place to stay. Staff is outstanding. They are friendly and very helpful. I was impressed by level of cleanliness the hotel maintains. Breakfast was good. I found the cheap rate using value club card. Just be the member of value club and you will get the discounted rate which is cheaper then all other third party websites.!! Overall I enjoyed my stay without any trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaib83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your stay to Calgary. Our Housekeeping department works very hard at ensuring that a clean and comfortable room is their number one priority.
We are glad you joined the Value Club Program. The program is free to join and the savings are worth the couple of minutes it takes to join on line or at the Front Desk.
Please remember it can be used at over the 1000 properties across North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pros:
Good enough if you're not looking for something fancy but just for a place to sleep.
Rooms are reasonably priced, warm and very clean.
The stuff is extremely friendly and helpful, I was impressed.
Good enough fridge, TV, beds and shower.
Location close to everything that I could think of for a two nights stay.
Join their club to get cheaper rate.

Cons:
Continental Breakfast is ok, though from not highly-processed food there are only coffee and milk.
It was frustrating that the rate online was cheaper than at the counter and I had to spend half an hour trying to book it from my slow phone Internet while already being inside the office.
You can hear people in another rooms like they are in your room, bring the ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vptrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to visit Trip Advisor. I will look into why there was not a rate close to the rate that you ended up getting by booking on-line. We cannot match all rates; however we know the rates of the third party sites and usually do our best to assist the guest. The total customer service experience is important to us and we want your stay to be comfortable and not frustrating.
Our continental breakfast does provide toast and bagels in addition to various breakfast pastries of danish, turnovers and muffins. We do have 3-4 types of cereal, juice, coffee, tea and fruit.
We strive to provide a variety for the continental breakfast.
We hope to see you on a future visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Even though this is an older place and in desperate need of updating, it was very clean and comfortable. The beds and pillows were soft and inviting. The room was too warm and didn't cool down much even though we ran the air conditioner all night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building itself isn't very soundproof between rooms but we didn't hear any outside noises. The water in the shower went from scalding hot to cold within a few seconds and the "cold" tap water was more like luke warm. We didn't have the breakfast but it looked very good with fresh pastries, bagels and bread. All in all, it was an alright place for the price.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the upper floor as the rooms aren't very soundproof and you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to visit Trip Advisor. Our building is definately older; however we work very hard to make sure the rooms are extremely clean and that we have helpful and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm really kind of torn on how to rate this place.
First off, the staff is outstanding. We had an issue with the first room we were put in, and the lady working the front desk was very apologetic, friendly and addressed the issue right away. Very helpful during check in, everything was outstanding.

But the condition of the place needs to be addressed. The issue in our first room was the hot water in the shower. The tap was extremely hard to turn, and when eventually we got it moving, there was a slight trickle of hot water and nothing else. The rest of the bathroom wasn't in great condition either. Caulking along the side of the sink was half peeled up and desperately needed to be redone. Water damage marks on the ceiling. Just not well maintained

Like I mentioned, we were moved and second room had no water issues, but still needed some work badly. The bathroom roof had a large chunk missing from what looked like water damage that just wasn't patched up. And the bathroom floor...it was tile, but was uneven and the tile though still stuck to the ground was shattered in hundreds of pieces that you could feel move as you walked on it.

I do a lot of home renos and renos for rental companies, and this is easy fix stuff. Caulking a bathroom can be done for cheap in a couple hours. Re-tiling a small bathroom floor takes some more work than that, but still isn't an overly expensive/difficult fix. I do get that the place is old and dated, and I have no issue with that. The wood paneling on the walls might be ugly, but it was clean and maintained. But some of the easy to address stuff being ignored is troublesome.

We only had a one night stay and the bedding was clean, beds decently comfortable, and though it seemed noisy during the day we had no issues at night. I want to rate it higher based on the staff and having an ok sleep at a decent price, but this place needs some work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honesty and we thank you for acknowledging the hard working front desk staff. We understand your frustrations and in this industry we realize that the entire guest experience is what is important. I have made special note of your review and have passed this one on to ownership. It is important that everyone be aware of particular concerns and areas that can be easily addressed as you have noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#93 of 109 in Calgary
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#46 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn
Address: 2416 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing