We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out dated but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Woodbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Out dated but clean”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is very old and have some outdated furniture. However, i was very impressed by level of cleanliness the hotel maintains. I have been to few hotels in Calgary with higher rating, but failed to pass outstanding cleanliness level. C.B.V don't have much to offer, but it makes it up to you by providing clean room and unbeatable cheap prices. The location is convenient to travel to downtown, and Denny's and other restaurants are just a walking distance. The hotel is good for tight budget. Besides good rates they also offer free continental breakfast which does help out to save on little cash.

Room Tip: I was in second floor and i liked the view not the best, but better than first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest comments and review of the property. It is very helpful to future guests to have other guests provide them with the information that will help them in making the best decision for their needs.
Our primary goal is always a clean and comfortable room and all of our staff are committed to that. Hope to see you again on a future trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    96
    55
    22
    19
See reviews for
57
73
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentley, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is very dated but was clean. It worked out very well for us as we stayed in the three beds room with a kitchenette for a volleyball tournament. It was welled priced at $85 per night. Pros: The beds were comfortable, it had a kitchenette so we could make our own meals, there were actually two separate rooms, and it had two bathrooms. Cons: Our room was hot and could not get it cooled down without opening the window or turning on the air conditioning, both which made it too noisy to sleep; the TV's were very old and small by todays' standards.

We would definitely stay there again as it was cheap and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the south side of the hotel - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I am glad that the size of our triple rooms and the price worked well for your sporting event.
We have looked into the issue with temperature and the difficulty to control it.
Hope to see you again at a future tournament or stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we can get in. It is very popular. Very Very reasonably priced. It isnt fancy at all, but very clean. They have a nice continental Breakfast. They have fridges in their rooms. If you get the main floor you can drive right up to your door. Join their club and get cheaper rates. Good wifi. Good TV. In a good location, close to shopping and resturants. Staff very friendly. It doesnt have all the fancy fixtures and fancy shower heads you will find at a higher end hotel. Some of the bath tubs and toilets are pink. It is a retro hotel. But again Very resonable and good just for sleeping. Most holidayers are not in their rooms much anyway. No charge for parking. No extra fees. Rates go up during stampede week.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to climb if you are not able to get a main floor room. Ask for a main floor. All ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you consider our property when you stay in Calgary.
We appreciate your business and your very truthful review of the motel. Hope to see you again.
We encourage all our regular guests to apply for our Value Club Card. The program is free to join and is an instant savings program. You can apply in person or on line. If you are phoning us directly - please inquire for any additional details or questions you may have.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent there couple of nights. The place was calm, clean and siituated near main road - great if you are in Calgary for sightseeing. Friendly staff, standard breakfast and Boston Pizza just across parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review and assist others with their travel plans.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our room was okay. Not modern at all but for the price it was alright. The adjacent room had the squeakiest matress springs that I have ever heard. It was hilarious.
The pool was out of order. The service was good. The continental breakfast was average.
Over all a 3/5

Room Tip: All rooms were similar. Upstairs you can hear everone walking by on the metal outside walkway.I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoblorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We strive to ensure that our guests stay meets their comfort level. Our pool is an outdoor pool so it is not open in the off season. Unfortunately, Calgary does not have a long summer season... or one that you can count on.
Our continental breakfast usually is enjoyed by our guests. It is not a hot breakfast; however we find most are happy with selection of muffins, danish, turnovers, toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, juices and coffee and tea.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests and look into matter brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel so my husband could attend remembrance parades at local legions with the pipe band he plays with and meet up with a fellow soldier he served with and hadnt seen in 25yrs. The hotel is a little bit dated but this only gave it character. To many modern hotels look so alike you wouldnt even know what country you were if not for the views out the windows.On checking in we met the receptionist and the manager. Both were exceptionally nice women and definately contributed to a lovely stay.They made us feel like we were old friends rather than customers and couldnt be more helpful in helping us find our way around Calgary. The evening receptionist was a very nice gentleman who directed us for food at a very late hour . Overall this hotel although it may need some updating in places was great value for money,the rooms were clean,nice and warm and spacious,but it was the staff who made this one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide ( and I have stayed in many all over the world some 4 stars some minus 4 lol )

Room Tip: Rooms further away from main road and reception will be quieter but we had no probs sleeping right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnersmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of this Canadas Best Value Inn. We try very hard to make sure that your stay with us is memorable and a positive experience. Our property is older; however our main goals always remain.... clean comfortable rooms and polite, friendly,professional staff. We believe in great service and and importance of a friendly face in the hospitality industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

very basic hotel. Clean, comfortable, quiet. And close to the university (~15 minute walk). About what you'd expect. Good for the price. I'd definitely stay here again. Why do I have to type 200 characters here? ok, taking up space, taking up space….

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g-wrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your brief but informed response. Your comments contained lots of information to assist future guests in making a lodging decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn
Address: 2416 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing