We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We came through Calgary and were in need of a decent, value priced motel. Our room was very clean, we got a King size bed, and it was SOOOO comfortable! Yes, the room looks like the backdrop for a 70's porn, but it's clean... and the banana bread they have in the morning ( continental brekkie) is very good! Would stay there again ( and if you get an America's Best Value Inn discount card online, you get an extra 15% off , which brought our bill to $68! )

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristen_holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We strive to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay while in Calgary. Our Value Club Card program is very popular as it is an instant rewards system. You start saving on your very next visit. The card offers you a15% discount. The card offered by Canadas Best Value Inn / Americas Best Value Inn is honoured at over the 1000 properties across North America. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

An older property, this motel was exactly what I wanted for a quick overnight in Calgary. It was clean, quite a bit cheaper than anything else in the area, and I could park in front of my room door. That's handy when you're lugging gear. As a woman traveling alone, I felt safe although some more timid souls might find the outside lighting a bit dim. Night receptionist was friendly and helpful, continental breakfast adequate, and Lori the manager is a treasure. I drove slightly past the entrance but was easily able to return to it. Location was a real plus for me, near my destination. Only negative was no remote for the TV -- not exactly roughing it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLG605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. We are happy that your accomodations met with your expectations. Customer service is our number 1 priority! We apologize that you were unable to locate the remote for the television. We have switched to "clean remotes" and their bright blue color is not always recognized as a tv remote; however their flat and washable surface is a definate plus in our ultimate goal of cleanliness and sanitized surfaces. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Calgary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Having crossed the Atlantic this was our first stop in Canada.and it was not a great experience. Not especially easy to find, located adjacent to busy roads,a reception that resembled a mid-west post office from the 19th century (yep, receptionist was behind bars) and just to add to our woes, the room reserved was not what we'd ordered. In fairness that wasn't all down to this establishment but poor communication that they had received from our intermediary. That said, the receptionist tried to make the case that "1 Queen bed is quite normal for 3 adults" - really! Attempts to relocate us in an alternative room failed (the smell of stale smoke in the "non-smoking" room we viewed was overpowering so in the end we relaocated to a nearby very pleasant Travel Lodge. Thankfully, the CBVI was the low point of our trip. Hopefully our experience was not typical - nevertheless, we were glad we did not actually stay there in the end.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for expressing your views to us. I am sorry the property did not live up to your expectations for your desired accomodation in Calgary. Our "mid-west post office" style was not created to give you the impression that our Customer Service Representative were locked up, but rather in the safest environment possible for a business that is open 24-7 in a large metropolitan city. I am sorry that we were not able to find you a larger room due to as you stated poor communication between the parties based on the number of guests. Our property does offer rooms with one, two and three queen beds for larger families. We strive to ensure that all our non-smoking rooms remain that way and battle with guests that although are smokers prefer non-smoking accomodations. Again, I apologize that our property did not meet your expectations - I hope that your visit to Canada was a pleasant experience for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I spent my first night at this hotel last night... and I have 2 more nights to go. As a business traveler, all downtown hotels were booked solid, and this is where I ended up. The room is very dated, but clean... and I'm not hard to please. However, I arrived last night to rather cold weather. The room would not heat up. I called the front desk to ask about heat and was told that the "generators" wouldn't start until 11pm. What? Generators? Is this a third world hotel? No heat until 11pm? So I heated the room with a hair dryer. The wireless internet connection is extremely slow also.

However, if you're looking for an inexpensive and clean room, this is a pretty good value... as long as it's not cold outside before 11pm.

If you're a business traveler and working wirelessly on your computer is important, I'd say this is the wrong place to stay.

All in all, pretty good... but the heat issue is very difficult to overlook, which is why I rated the service as poor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

I apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We do not heat our building with "generators" and have made sure the staff fully understand the proper terminology for our heating and boiler system. Our boilers were recently upgraded 2 years ago and has proven to be a very effective system. The difficulty experienced during your stay was our extreme weather conditions from daytime to nightime that had our guests changing from heat to air conditioners as we gladly welcomed beautiful above average September daytime temperatures. I again apologize that the staff on duty did not offer you a space heater to assist you in ensuring your stay with us was more comfortable. I was not aware that the wireless internet was running slow at that time. Our technology team has made the necessary changes and our system appears to be running without problems or difficulty. Thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Grandson was graduating from SAIT we are from East coast so asked for a FAMILY room so we could spend valuable family time together . From 3000 miles away made reservation we were advised there were three queen beds and they would bring in a cot if needed . Continental breakfast included and no extra charge for xtra people . Room was large , clean , fridge lots of clean towels and the staff was very helpful . Coffee pot and real mugs for coffee in your room . Close to university and internet services as well as we printed our boarding documents for next days flight . Very Reasonable price for six people ,clean, warm and quiet . Thanks for a great stay !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Great place for Families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara101752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you for sharing your positive review! We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction. Customer satisfaction is always our number 1 priority. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Calgary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We travelled as a group of four adults and three kids. We got what we paid for, one large room with three queen beds. The building was very old, extremely close to a busy highway. When lights were turned off you could see light coming over the wall from the room next door. Beds were OK, included breakfast was not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogbaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

We appreciate your comments to assist us with areas of concern. Your concern regarding the light has been communicated to the Maintenance Dept. We are sorry that you did not find our Express Continental breakfast satisfactory. Although our breakfast area is very tiny - we usually find our guests find the selection of pastries, breads, bagels, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee and tea a good start to their morning. We are also fortunate that within walking distance for guests wishing more than an express/continental breakfast that we have McDonalds, Denny's and Phils in our immediate neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you're looking for an inn in a reasonable price, this is the place fore you.

The rooms are very clean and quiet. The pool was cold but we had a great time there. We didn't feel threatened by the area at all. In fact, we enjoyed the fact that it was sandwiched by the Red Lobster, Boston pizza and McDonalds. It was so convenient to get something to eat.

All in all, we had a nice time here. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our location in Motel Village in Calgary does offer alot of restaurants in the immediate area for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and thank you for your mentioning that you found the pool a little cool. We have since boosted the temperature a few degrees to a constant 84 degrees F. Hopefully this will be more enjoyable for our many families staying with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 110 in Calgary
201 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 2416 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $63 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing