We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Meadows

Spruce Meadows
Ranked #1 of 77 Fun & Games in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Calgary, Canada, Spruce Meadows is the brainchild of the Southern family who built a Show Jumping complex at the foothills of the Alberta Rocky Mountains. It was in 1976 that the first Spruce Tournaments were held, with annual spectator attendances reaching over 50,000 by the end of the decade. Today, Spruce Meadows boasts one of the greatest outdoor equestrian venues in the world and offers an incredible experience for riders and fans alike. Spruce Meadows focuses on the organization and hosting of show jumping tournaments of unmatched quality for junior, amateur and professional athletes in a manner that reflects basic family values in a clean, green and welcoming environment that celebrates the horse and encourages the breeding and training of quality sport horses and the teaching and development of athletes.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Whether you are an equestrian fan or not, this is a beautiful place to spend the day with extensive grounds, food vendors, shops - and of course the opportunity to see some of the best riders in the world competing in world-class outdoor arenas!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    161
    13
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spruce Meadows is amazing. I horse lovers dream. Highlight of any trip to Calgary. Will go back next time I'm in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank etteliuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best deal in Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have always wanted to go to Spruce Meadows and watch show jumping. We saw Ian Miller and Eric Lamaze jump on our visit and it was wonderful. I did not expect the whole park to be so great! It was the best deal around - $5 admission and free parking. There are many rings with shows going on, dog shows, places to eat and picnic. There are free horse and buggy rides or tours in golf carts. It is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful horse events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Beautiful arena, well run events.Met all expectations. We plan on returning next summer. We will stay at Worldmark Canmore. What a great resort in a beautiful setting.
Downside: Long walk from parking lot for 2 70+ folks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heyfield, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are a horse enthusiast, it is well worth the trip. Stunning grounds and show jumping.The North American series was on the weekend I went and there were dog demonstrations. A highlight was having a photo taken with on of the stallions who is my Australian mare's grandsire.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank binyara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Meadows also viewed

 

Been to Spruce Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing