We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone can enjoy Spruce Meadows”
Review of Spruce Meadows

Spruce Meadows
Ranked #1 of 302 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Based in Calgary, Canada, Spruce Meadows is the brainchild of the Southern family who built a Show Jumping complex at the foothills of the Alberta Rocky Mountains. It was in 1976 that the first Spruce Tournaments were held, with annual spectator attendances reaching over 50,000 by the end of the decade. Today, Spruce Meadows boasts one of the greatest outdoor equestrian venues in the world and offers an incredible experience for riders and fans alike. Spruce Meadows focuses on the organization and hosting of show jumping tournaments of unmatched quality for junior, amateur and professional athletes in a manner that reflects basic family values in a clean, green and welcoming environment that celebrates the horse and encourages the breeding and training of quality sport horses and the teaching and development of athletes.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Everyone can enjoy Spruce Meadows”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have to go to Spruce every year or my life is not complete! My Mum and Dad visit from England and now arrange the dates they visit so then can come to Spruce too. I love the Masters event in September. The best in the world compete, there is lots of shopping particularly good for the horse enthusiast but something for everyone too. It is $5 to get in, you can get free rush seating and you can take your own food and have a very cheap day out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kodiak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    182
    17
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best family experience!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This place has always been the best family venue anywhere. I've been going here for over 20 years. I went as a kid and as a horse enthusiast always felt the sheer magic that it possesses! Now I take my kids there and they love it too! We attend the large jumping competitions, amateur and junior competitions as well as the Christmas markets and are never disappointed. The other great thing is that since I started going they have not changed the admission price - it was always $5 for rush seating and that makes it very affordable for ALL families! Thank you to the Southern's for their commitment to family over all these years. I just wish that they were not building houses around it now as I would love to see continued growth!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great experience for everyone but esp. Horse people!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I can't say enough good about a day at Spruce Meadows. I'm a show jumping fan but have taken many friends who don't care about horses and they still have a great time. For true fans the competition here is the best in the world but even for people who have never watched jumping before, it is easy to follow and the action is fast and fun to watch. Entry is free or cheap ($5, free for kids, but there are often free entry coupons in the newspaper). You can pay for reserved seats but it is not required, there is plenty of seating that is included in the entry. Lots of different food options or pack a picnic. Lots of kids activities too. A must do experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestermere
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I love Spruce Meadows on any occassion!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The atmosphere of Spruce Meadows during a competition is always exciting. The athletes both two and four legged respond to the audience and make you feel like part of the event. Spruce Meadows is and event in itself with all the events they host, be it an equine event or a Christmas event.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank surfrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a day out”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I don't give a crap about horses and this was a wonderful day out a great time spent with a couple of friends. This is some of the most beautiful well manicured campuses i have seen since the Jasper Park Lodge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NotThatAngry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Meadows also viewed

 

Been to Spruce Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing