We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't count on room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked a business board room at the Deerfoot Casino for my daughter's birthday party. The idea was to take the kids swimming for 1 1/2 then have pizza and cake in the room. Check in was great they even gave my two children little gift packs and when I requested an additional table in the room to fit 8 kids they were very quick to bring it up along with extra chairs. However, we had a terrible experience with room service. At 2:00pm we pre-ordered pizza to be delivered at 5:15. At 5:25 my husband called room service to see where the order was and was told from a lady that it wasn't ready and it will "get there when it gets there". Well, if you are a parent you can image what it's like to tell 8 hungary kids to be patient. I called again at 5:40 to check and again a lady answered; she could have cared less. Her end answer "well I thinks it's on the way". My husband spoke to the front desk staff at check out and was told they would look into our complaint and get back to us by 3:00 but we did not receive a phone call. I would recommend this hotel, room was great and so was the pool but don't rely on room service or your complaint to be answered.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear familytravel09,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. I would like to apologize regarding the issues and quality of service you received relating to your room service order. I was a bit surprised to read this feedback actually because we typically we don’t have issues with our room service delivery times. I am very sorry that the quality of service you experienced from the restaurant was less than satisfactory. We would like to discuss this with you more personally so our Executive Chef will be contacting you directly. Thanks again for your feedback and we will look forward to your next visit to Calgary as an opportunity to show you they standard of service we are so well known for.

Warm Regards,
Bryce Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Deerfoot Inn and Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Service and the faculties were excellent.

I used the gym both days, and found the equipment and facilities clean and tidy for a hotel gym.

The beds were phenomenal, the rooms wee clean and the wireless speed was the best I have seen in a long time.

I would stay at this property again .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Ranga_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Ranga_72
Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled you decided to share your experience with us. It is our goal to provide the best level of service to our guests, and we are grateful you have allowed us to show you our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. We would love to welcome you back for another visit any time.
Warm Regards,
Bryce Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I arrived at 10 o'clock at night. I was looking forward to ordering room service. I was told that room service was closed and that I had to go down to the casino if I wanted food. I chose to go hungry and just have a cup of tea before bed. Nope couldn't have tea all they have is the coffee maker in the room, no hot water available. In the morning there was no hot water for shower. Deerfoot Inn is definitely not set up for business travelers.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank PaulandJanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We rented the exec. board room for our sons 18th birthday. I had made a video to show his friends and family. In a "board" room one would expect the connections to simply hook up a laptop to the t.v. to watch. NO such thing. In a "board room". They tried to compensate with a small t.v. screen that was dropped off on the couch and left for us to figure out how to hook it up. In a "board room" . You get the idea. The room was fantastic otherwise but the most important part of the birthday (video) made the whole experience sad for myself who put endless hours into it and as well for my son and his guest's to try and huddle around a small t.v. screen.
Poorly planned Deerfoot Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stylin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked for a hockey tourney as a group to receive the group rate. However, apparently when you receive a group rate, group rules apply like a 72 HOUR cancellation policy!! We were unaware of this rule and tried to cancel 1 night. After putting up quite a stink, our family was able to cancel the room. The manager was rude and swore over the phone.

One of the parents of the team was hospitalized for food poisoning after eating breakfast at the hotel (free breakfast = free trip to the hospital I guess). Several children were not feeling well from our team and other teams that were also staying at this hotel.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Tanya S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to apologize that you didn’t like our standard cancellation policy. After we have held a room for you within the 72hr period prior to arrival there is a full charge for cancelling the reservation you requested. This is also why we request a credit card and inform you of our cancellation policy when you book your hotel reservation. Our policies are well known industry standards that are used in hotels all around the world. I’m a little bit surprised to see a complaint regarding the cancellation policy when you weren’t charged the fee for it. I can understand your frustration regarding your confusion here but I also wanted to point out that we received great remarks from the other guests related to the tournament you were attending. I'm sorry your stay was less than satisfactory for you.

Warm Regards,

Bryce Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was at a convention for three days. Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. No problems with anything in the room. Fridge, coffee maker, flat screen TV, WiFi worked very well. Swimming pool and hottub appeared to be well looked after. Staff accommodating. Meals at convention were very tasty and hot with excellent waiter service. Casino is attached and is fairly good size. i would stay there again. Reasonable rate. Only drawback is it is not easy to get to and no shopping within walking distance that we saw.

Room Tip: We were at the back and quite quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear MarionP2,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear you liked the décor and service around the property. We recognize how important it is to leave a lasting impression on our guests and we would like to thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights at a convention. Everything ran smooth, rooms were nice, staff friendly and helpful, catered meals were tasty. Restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was good quality. Location remote so was a bit inconvient as we had no vehicle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Maureen C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us while you were in Calgary. We are very glad that you enjoy our property and our quality of service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Calgary.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
980 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#14 of 109 in Calgary
905 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfoot Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Address: 11500 35 St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $128 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerfoot Inn and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Deerfoot Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Calgary
Deerfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing