We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and location”

Local Public Eatery
Ranked #74 of 3,604 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and location”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were recommended here by a local bartender. The fish tacos and burger were great. There was a nice selection of local beers that were fun to try. They served the beer in carafes so there was enough for everyone at the table to try a little of each kind that we ordered. The restaurant was just a short walk from the Ramada- Downtown where we stayed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    63
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place, great service!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is our first visit to Calgary and to this bar. After a long 30 hours flight, we found this bar so crowded and decided to go night after. The crowd are ok, service was excellent and the food portion was huge! Definitely a place to hang out and try for anyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome find! ”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place when my friends and I were initially trying to go to the Unicorn next door. The Local's patio was much busier compared to the empty patio we walked into. We soon found out why all the people were at the Local. After sitting in an empty restaurant for 5 minutes without being served, we made the excellent decision to leave and head to the Local. We found a table right away and a server came up to us as we sat down. The drinks were great (specials every night of the week) and the food was very tasty. We loved the atmosphere (laid back and casual bar) and the service was phenomenal. We were so happy that we stumbled upon this place and would suggest it to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible waitresses and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Went there for supper tonight and would NEVER go back. As soon as we found a table in the packed bar, we hadn't even sat down and we were already being prompted about drinks. We then went to the menu and again, were rushed to make a selection on food. We both had burgers and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals.. lots of food and great flavours. After finishing up we were right away prompted for payment, even though we were finishing our alcohol still. We paid the tab, thinking that the waitress was just wanting to finish her shift but proceeded to stay and chat more. But no.. every 5 minutes we were asked if wr were still ok, and one waitress even put a sign that said "Taken" on it.. whatever the he'll that means. Like us sitting at the table itself wasn't enough of an indication.

Between the rushy and unfriendly behavior of the waitresses (not to mention downright insulting and bullying), if you are looking for a nice place to go for drinks and food after work, and to visit with a coworker or friend, this is not your place. However if you want a place to go to eat and drink for about 40 minutes, then this is an alright pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Wish the service was better”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I go to local about once a month and every experience I've had with the service has been horrible. The food is always good and the atmosphere. But they've really missed the mark with service. I've waited up to 20 min just to be seen and it always seems like I wait 15 min before someone even greets me to get a drink order. The servers are always hard to find and I've had to flag down some of the staff not even knowing who my server was (because that's how often I saw her) to get the check at the end of the meal as our dirty plates and empty drinks sat on the table for 20 min. I never write reviews because i feel that every once in a while things go wrong and try the place again. But this is an ongoing thing in the last year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolad1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Public Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Local Public Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing