We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”

Briggs Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Briggs Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 3,514 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: We love food, we love people, we love liquids and we love a deal. The idea of Briggs Kitchen + Bar is built on these cornerstones. We feel that taking food back to more simple times by cooking over natural fire, touching it with a little finesse and getting it in front of our guests for a reasonable price is what it is all about. Do that with connected service in a cool environment and you pretty much capture the essence of three guys that have a passion to deliver. At Briggs our mission is providing great value and we hope you feel that every time you walk through our doors.
Medford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The food was excellent. I had a steak that was cooked to perfection. The service was top notch. My only minor complaint was the alcoholic drink was weak. It seems like that is typical in Canada compared to the States. Best meal I had all week in Calgary!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    49
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
530 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Good Prices for Drinks and Snacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Four of us stopped in for an afternoon visit. At 2:30 on a Saturday there were only half a dozen tables being used. I did stand at the front desk for several minutes before anyone came over to acknowledge my presence - but once she did - she was very friendly.

We sat in the bar area so we could enjoy the big windows and the daylight. The restaurant and bar is very rustic - with the kitchen open to the dining area.

Our table enjoyed some mixed drinks, beer and wine. The mixed drinks were priced well below what you would generally see in other area restaurants. The beer and wine were also reasonable -- but not as good a deal as the cocktails.

We ordered a chicken flat bread to share. It was tasty - though a little sweet.

Overall -- a very enjoyable afternoon. We would come back to try out the dinner menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“'Twas two days before Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

And all around town, people were dining looking for one of the best meals around....... You may have just found it at Briggs kitchen. Went for lunch with some clients, arrived early at 11:30 and were glad we did place was hopping by just after 12, SO go early or miss out. Started with some calimari, nice light fry and tastey dip. Followed up with with burgers, lobster ravioli and the fish sandwich, fish sandwich and frys were awsome great zesty sauce on the fish and really light bun, guys with the burgers and ravioli also really enjoyed they meal....... Can't wait to try dinner maybe do the sharing menu with a 40+ once steak !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place will be a hit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

From the moment you walk in, you will know you are in a great restaurant! The smells from the wood fired oven are heavenly! The open kitchen is a real treat and the staff are so friendly you feel like they were waiting just for you to arrive. The food is delicious - fresh ingredients go into making some wonderful inspired creations that are delicious! Briggs will be a hit in the Calgary downtown/Beltline food scene.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DF2011_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
659 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and prices for the quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Six of us ladies went there last week and we left knowing we'll be back.
Friendly service (but not over the top), great atmosphere - lots of little details and different types of seating arrangements (from tables to private rooms to bar seating). The variety of food was also great - higher end for the prices, which was a pleasant surprise. I had the 6oz steak and instead of fries asked for the risotto. It was delicious. Desserts were great, too - we split the lemon and chocolate options. The chocolate dessert tasted heaven - so save room.
A great location caps this place off - looking forward to going back when I'm back in YYC.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Briggs Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Briggs Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing