We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast ever”
Review of Yellow Door Bistro

Yellow Door Bistro
Ranked #63 of 3,552 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Breakfast ever”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A very different menu of breakfast items. Tried a couple of out of the ordinary dishes and they were excellent. Tasty and cooked to perfection. Nicely presented too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaskatoonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    60
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey, but Delicious, Breakfast”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I ate at the Yellow Door Bistro a number of mornings while attending a conference at Hotel Arts. The breakfast buffet was great! Very good selection, even for vegetarians. Service was prompt and attentive. The banana chocolate chip pancakes are absolutely amazing - highly recommended. Unique and whimsical environment. My only criticism is the price - $25/person for breakfast is pretty steep, even if the food is great. I honestly only ate there because I had a voucher, otherwise I would have probably found something a bit more affordable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17_britt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great wine”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you enjoy wine you will enjoy browsing through the restaurant's wine list brought to you on an ipad. Wines by the glass are 'enomatic pour' wines which should reduce any wines going off before coming to your table. Choose from California, B.C., Napa Valley, the Loire Valley in France, Argentina, Australia, Chile and Italy.Prices up to $1300.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawnafreeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dead restaurant, very rude service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

On a Saturday night, a group of professional gorgeous women all in black enter the restaurant and order several cocktails at the bar, and take the table by the entrance socializing. Our photographer is taking photos of us, and a very short, and very rude manager comes along and literally shews us from the entrance. He is making hand motions for us to move over to the side. I look behind us, and ahead of us to see if we are blocking anyone, and there isn't a soul in sight. It's Saturday, and this place is rather dead and lifeless. Not a soul in sight approaching the entrance, and we are left boggled why this manager has been so rude to us.

Needless to say, we skip ordering the tapas we wanted, and we finish our one and only cocktail and we leave this lifeless place! We finish our photos in the lobby and get back into our stretch limo...
Skip this lifeless place with the rude manager! Go elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovehvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
551 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“The Breakfast Buffet Was Very Good”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Four of us decided to try out the breakfast buffet on a recent Sunday morning. Luckily we had a reservation, as the restaurant was pretty much full and there were a few people waiting in line for a table.

We all enjoyed the full breakfast options immensely. There were fresh pastries, fresh fruit, hot cereal, bean salad, meats and cheeses, eggs (well cooked), bacon, saucages, mini banana pancakes.......and lots more.

The coffee was fresh and bottomless.

My one suggestion for improvement would be regarding the service. We waited quite a long time to get some coffee, and our waitress wasn't particularly friendly or attentive througout our meal. Better wait staff would have brought the rating up to a '5'.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Door Bistro also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Yellow Door Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing