We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market

Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 3,514 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Nearly walked past! Went in to find a stunning eclectic restaurant!

Tuna salad excellent

Staff amazing... Thank you guys

Helpful?
Thank Hospitalitygav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKETRestaurant, Owner at Market, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hey! Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor! Glad you didn't walk past us and were able to come in and experience MARKET! Happy to hear you thought our restaurant is stunning and electric! I will let Chef know you enjoyed the Tuna Salad and also let my General Manager you enjoyed the service! Please come see us again :) Cheers, Vanessa- Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    20
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Best iced tea ever!! Loved the honey in it. Lunch was beautifully presented and perfectly seasoned. Will be recommending to friends and family. You guys just made 3 chefs very happy.

Helpful?
Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKETRestaurant, Owner at Market, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Gabriella for your review on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to here that you think our homemade Iced Tea was the best you've ever had! I am also glad to you felt your lunch was beautiful and presented well. I noticed that you mentioned you were 3 chefs, thats always great to have chefs and end up making them happy :) I'd love to know more about your experience, if you'd like to reach out to me personally you can email me at info@marketcalgary.ca ! Thanks again and hope to see you in again soon, maybe next time for dinner! Cheers, Vanessa- Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
223 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

There are some great restaurants along 17 Ave SW, Market is one of them. I had dinner with friends for the first time a couple of weeks ago and was so impressed that I visited again this week. The chef pays a lot of attention to the freshness and quality of the ingredients and details of presentation. A simple dish like a beet salad becomes something quite impressive and tasty. I tried two different meat ball starters and I can't wait to go back and try this dish again. The starters seem expensive, but they are quite generous servings - two starters is a meal for one person. Good wine selection, some nice cocktails, and you have a good view into the well-run kitchen from almost everywhere in the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKETRestaurant, Owner at Market, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks Jim for taking the time to review MARKET on TripAdvisor! We appreciate hearing your feedback regarding your experience with us! We agree that 17th Ave and Calgary has some amazing restaurants. We are happy to hear you feel that MARKET is amongst the best, thats a true honor. I always say you can judge a good restaurant by the amount of their repeat and loyal guests. We truly value your support and love to hear that you've been twice in one week! I will let chef know that you enjoyed the attention to details in his dishes and that the food was tasting! Glad to hear to felt that the food was worth the money and the value was there! Thanks again for your review and comments and we look forward to having you back in MARKET soon! Cheers, Vanessa, Owner- MARKET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very Disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had such a good recommendation from a very picky foody. We decided to stop in for an early dinner before a play at ATP (which was fantastic...Called Legend has it). So excited. When we arrived the hostess was friend friendly and immediately seated us. The restaurant however looks like a bad Ikea throwback from early 2000. Im personally tired of cheap chairs, tables, and while everywhere. I feel like im in sitting in a fridge. Its just not original, and been done so much. The service is very good. Our waitress was attentive. I looked over the small menu, which is fine, and found only two dishes out of the 12-14 choices I could eat. All of it had pork, or some product of pork. I didnt feel like chicken, or the halibut. My fault I guess. Yet it says gluten free and vegetarian friendly. What about us Kosher/Non Pork eating patrons? We had some oysters from the west coast to start. Just adequate. The sauce was watery, and in eye droppers...which were kind of unique. Just no taste. I was expecting some sea salt to go along with it. I had the Bison steak, without the pork gelly/paste... It was a bit cold, and just adequate. Not great for 30$. My companion had the hamburger. The fries were terrible, and the burger under cooked despite asking for well done. His salad apparently was also not good. The small mashed potatoes I had on my plate were good. So we thought the desert may be good. We asked for a recommendation. Doughnuts was the choice of our server. Again. The ice cream with it was not a good compliment, and the doughnuts...well, if im going to indulge in such sugary over calorie treats, I want it to be krispy kreme good.....or decadent...... it was not. Another disappointment. The restaurant may have one the best new restaurant of the year. We were both not impressed 130$ later. However I must say, the service was excellent!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKETRestaurant, Owner at Market, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello Manium, thank you for taking the time to post this review and let us know how your experience is with us. We love to hear all reviews, positive or constructive, but its reviews like yours where we can truly gain insight on how to grow as a restaurant and improve our guests experience. Glad to hear that you were greeted by one of our friendly hosts and was able to be seated quickly. Regarding your comments for our decor, we can agree that its not for everyone, but find that the simplicity of it allows us to focus our attention the colours and food presentation :) I am happy to hear service was very good. MARKET has only the highest standards for customer service and hospitality, so its great we did not fall short on this. We have brought all your comments regarding the food to our chefs attention. We hope that you will come back to give MARKET another chance. Our new spring menu is about to launch and there will be lots of fresh new dishes on there. We hope to see you again for the opportunity to prove to you why MARKET was named "one of the best" in Calgary. If you would like to get in touch with me personally to discuss your experience in more detail, please email info@marketcalgary.ca! Cheers, Vanessa, Owner- MARKET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
359 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Went to Market for the first time recently, for lunch, and was very impressed. The atmosphere is cool and happening, and the service was very good. I had the chicken pot pie for lunch, and it was not as I expected. It was served as a stew, with a pastry in the stew, not above and below as would be more traditional, I liked it, cool presentation, and very tasty. My lunch companion had the fish and chips and also enjoyed his meal.

Next time I will return for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKETRestaurant, Owner at Market, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks David for writing a review and letting us know about your experience! Glad that we were able to impress you on your first visit to MARKET. Love to hear that you enjoyed the vibe, service, and food. The chicken pot pie is a guest favourite and happy to hear you enjoyed the unique and creative presentation with out compromising taste! I have let chef know your compliments and hope that you will come see us agains soon, perhaps for dinner next time :) Cheers- Vanessa, Owner- MARKET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing